viennacontemporary

Focus

Focus: NSK State in Time

Artists: Julieta Aranda & Anton Vidokle, Burak Arikan & Ahmet Ögüt, Danica Dakić, Vadim Fishkin, IRWIN, Ištvan Išt Huzjan, Ilya & Emilia Kabakov, Laibach, Alban Muja, Ilona Németh, Adrian Paci, Lia Perjovschi, Mladen Stilinović, New Collectivism, Jaan Toomik, Ulay, Tadej Vaukman, Živadinov

Curator: Tevž Logar

This year’s Focus section will revolve around the question: “What is the understanding of a state that is not based on territory but in time?” Based on the phenomenon “NSK State in Time“, curator Tevž Logar questions the notion that art is represented in the realm of a nation-state.

Created as a conceptual art project in 1992 by the groups comprising the “Neue Slowenische Kunst“ movement (NSK) in response to the political upheavals in Yugoslavia, the “NSK State in Time” without any territory is now the virtual home of over 15,000 citizens worldwide. The state provides citizens with rights of participation that encourage open-ended actions, such as the formulation of their own constitution, currency, educational system, or popular culture.

In the current era of reassertion of fascism and xenophobia, the question of post-nationalism, as posed by the NSK State in Time, is as relevant today as it was when it was founded.

The current Focus presentation can be seen on the one hand as one of the NSK’s open-ended actions directly addressing the mechanisms of the contemporary art system. On the other hand, the presentation revolves around a selection of artists who, through their work, reject the idea of ​​boundaries and thus stimulate critical thinking on topics such as memory, history, and existing geopolitical paradigms.

This year’s Focus presentation is kindly supported by the Igor Zabel Association for Culture and Theory and ERSTE Foundation.

Tevž Logar is an independent curator working with various galleries, institutions, and collections. He was an associate curator and editor at Galerija Gregor Podnar in Berlin, artistic director of the Škuc Gallery in Ljubljana, Slovenia, and a lecturer of 20th Century Art History at the Academy of Visual Arts (AVA), Ljubljana. He lives in Rijeka, Croatia.

 

 

Friday, 27 September 2019, 5:00 pm, film screening, viennacontemporary 2019, Marx Halle (Culture 5.0 Conference Booth)

The Curator’s Room
Igor Zabel: How to Make Art Visible?

Director: Damjan Kozole, Slovenia, 2018, 64 min

The screening of the documentary film about Igor Zabel (1958–2005), an influential Slovenian art historian and curator, is part of NSK State in Time, the accompanying program of the viennacontemporary 2019 Focus section. The film screening followed by a Q&A with scriptwriter Urška Jurman.

Story

The Curator’s Rooma documentary film dedicated to the art historian and curator Igor Zabel (1958–2005), focuses on Zabel’s work in the field of fine arts from the end of the 1980s to his death. Through the film, we learn how, during that epochal time – at the turn of the century and at the intersection of (post)modern and contemporary art, the local and international art space, socialism and capitalism, East and West, the artistic and the social/political –, he faced not only great changes and conflicts in his work, but also possibilities for the new.

The film portrays not only a man who, despite the internal contradictions of the art world, persistently believed in the power of art, but also illustrates the environment, in which Igor Zabel worked and which he influenced.

With: Zdenka Badovinac, Jože Barši, Francesco Bonami, Barbara Borčić, Ekaterina Degot, Ješa Denegri, Charles Esche, Vadim Fiškin, Sergej Kapus, Samo Krušič, Boris Marte, Viktor Misiano, Marjetica Potrč, Igor Španjol, Borut Vogelnik, Mateja Kos Zabel, Bojan and Sonja Zabel, Božidar Zrinski, Beti Žerovc, Peter Weibel

Scriptwriter: Urška Jurman / Production company and distribution: Vertigo / Co-production: RTV Slovenia, Igor Zabel Association for Culture and Theory / Financial support: Slovenian Film Centre

The viennacontemporary 2019 Focus presentation is curated by Tevž Logar and supported by the Igor Zabel Association for Culture and Theory and ERSTE Foundation.

viennacontemporary

Focus

Focus: NSK State in Time

Künstler: Julieta Aranda & Anton Vidokle, Burak Arikan & Ahmet Ögüt, Danica Dakić, Vadim Fishkin, IRWIN, Ištvan Išt Huzjan, Ilya & Emilia Kabakov, Laibach, Alban Muja, Ilona Németh, Adrian Paci, Lia Perjovschi, Mladen Stilinović, New Collectivism, Jaan Toomik, Ulay, Tadej Vaukman, Živadinov

Kurator: Tevž Logar

Die diesjährige Sektion Focus dreht sich um die Frage: „Was versteht man unter einem Staat, der nicht auf Territorium basiert, sondern auf Zeit?“ Anhand des Phänomens „NSK State in Time“ hinterfragt Kurator Tevž Logar die Vorstellung, dass Kunst im Bereich des Nationalstaates repräsentiert wird.

Als konzeptuelles Kunstprojekt 1992 von einer Gruppe um die Bewegung der „Neuen Slowenischen Kunst“ (NSK) als Reaktion auf die politischen Umwälzungen in Jugoslawien gegründet, ist der terrritoriumslose „NSK State in Time“ heute die virtuelle Heimat von über 15.000 Bürgern weltweit. Der Staat bietet den BürgerInnen Mitwirkungsrechte, die zu offenen Aktionen anregen, wie etwa die Ausarbeitung einer eigenen Verfassung, Währung, eines Bildungssystems oder einer Volkskultur. In der aktuellen Zeit der aggressiven Behauptung von Faschismus und Fremdenfeindlichkeit ist die Frage nach dem Post-Nationalismus, wie sie der „NSK State in Time“ aufgeworfen hat, heute so relevant wie zur Zeit seiner Gründung.

Die aktuelle Focus-Präsentation kann einerseits als eine jener offenen NSK-Aktionen gesehen werden, die sich direkt mit den Mechanismen des zeitgenössischen Kunstsystems befassen. Andererseits dreht sich die Ausstellung um eine Auswahl von KünstlerInnen, die durch ihre Arbeit die Idee von Grenzen ablehnen und so das kritische Denken der BetrachterInnen über Themen wie Erinnerung, Geschichte und bestehende geopolitische Paradigmen anregen.

Focus findet mit freundlicher Unterstützung der Igor Zabel Association for Culture and Theory und ERSTE Stiftung statt.

Tevž Logar ist ein unabhängiger Kurator, der mit Galerien, Institutionen und Sammlungen arbeitet. Er war Associate Curator und Editor bei der Galerija Gregor Podnar in Berlin, künstlerischer Leiter der Galerija Škuc in Ljubljana, Slowenien und Lektor der Kunstgeschichte des 20. Jahrhunderts an der Academy of Visual Arts (AVA), Ljubljana. Er lebt und arbeitet in Rijeka, Kroatien.

 

 

 

Freitag, 27. September 2019, 17:00 Uhr, Filmvorführung, viennacontemporary 2019, Marx Halle (Culture 5.0 Conference Booth)

The Curator’s Room
Igor Zabel: How to Make Art Visible?

Regie: Damjan Kozole, Slowenien, 2018, 64 min

Die Vorführung des Dokumentarfilms über Igor Zabel (1958–2005), einen einflussreichen slowenischen Kunsthistoriker und Kurator, ist Teil von NSK State in Time, dem Begleitprogramm der 2019 Focus Sektion von viennacontemporary. Die Filmvorführung wird gefolgt von einer Q & A Runde mit Drehbuchautorin Urška Jurman.

Inhalt
The Curator’s Room, ein Dokumentarfilm, der dem Kunsthistoriker und Kurator Igor Zabel (1958–2005) gewidmet ist, konzentriert sich auf Zabels Arbeit im Bereich der bildenden Kunst von Ende der 1980er Jahre bis zu seinem Tod. Durch den Film erfahren wir, wie er sich in dieser Epoche – um die Jahrhundertwende und an der Schnittstelle von (post-) moderner und zeitgenössischer Kunst, lokalem und internationalem Kunstraum, Sozialismus und Kapitalismus, Ost und West, Künstlerischem und Sozial/Politischem –  in seiner Arbeit nicht nur großen Veränderungen und Konflikten gegenübersah, sondern auch neue Möglichkeiten umsetzte.

Der Film zeigt nicht nur einen Mann, der trotz interner Widersprüche der Kunstwelt beharrlich an die Kraft der Kunst glaubte, sondern auch das Umfeld, in dem Igor Zabel arbeitete und welches er mitbeeinflusste.

Mit: Zdenka Badovinac, Jože Barši, Francesco Bonami, Barbara Borčić, Ekaterina Degot, Ješa Denegri, Charles Esche, Vadim Fiškin, Sergej Kapus, Samo Krušič, Boris Marte, Viktor Misiano, Marjetica Potrč, Igor Španjol, Borut Vogelnik, Mateja Kos Zabel, Bojan und Sonja Zabel, Božidar Zrinski, Beti Žerovc, Peter Weibel

Drehbuch: Urška Jurman / Produktionsfirma und Vertrieb: Vertigo / Koproduktion: RTV Slovenia, Igor Zabel Association for Culture and Theory / Finanzielle Unterstützung : Slovenian Film Centre

Die viennacontemporary Focus-Präsentation 2019 wird von Tevž Logar kuratiert und von der Igor Zabel Association for Culture and Theory und der ERSTE-Stiftung unterstützt.