Viennacontemporary

ZONE1

Curator: Franziska Sophie Wildförster

 

C04 Olivia Coeln I Georg Kargl Fine Arts
C02 Kathi Hofer I Gabriele Senn Galerie
C03 Katharina Höglinger I Wonnerth Dejaco
C06 Nikita Kadan I Voloshyn Gallery
C07 Jelena Micić I Galerie3
C08 Michèle Pagel I Meyer Kainer
C01 Dan Vogt I Shore

 

With the kind support of the Federal Ministry for Arts, Culture, the Civil Service and Sport.


The exhibition format ZONE1 exclusively features artists under 40, who live, work or have been educated in Austria. Since 2015, ZONE1 has been one of the highlights of the fair and highly valued by art experts and visitors. This year, it is curated by Franziska Sophie Wildförster

 

Vienna is a geographical and creative junction that has a rich history and continues to set new impulses. The reasons for this seem to be not only because of two excellent art academies and reliable state funding systems, but is also due to a general shift in attention, which in times of crisis moves away from the once undisputed art and financial metropolises. viennacontemporary, under the new artistic direction of Boris Ondreicka, is an attempt not only to depict and define these dynamics but also to expand them. I am happy to be a part of this enterprise with the curation of ZONE1, which reflects the vitality of the city. With a balance of galleries from the very beginning and those of the younger generations, ZONE1 showcases both emerging positions and those which have received less attention so far―a laboratory of sorts, where feminist, socioeconomic, and ecological approaches can be formulated.”

— Franziska Sophie Wildförster

 

Franziska Sophie Wildförster is a curator based in Munich and Vienna. She is co-director and co-founder of Kunstverein Kevin Space in Vienna, which showed exhibitions and projects of Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Alex Baczynski-Jenkins, Lydia Ourahmane, Evelyn Toacheng Wang and Kandis Williams, and was curator of MINI / Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies New York in 2019. Between 2014 and 2017 she was a member of the curatorial department of Thyssen- Bornemisza Art Contemporary, where she was co-editor of various exhibition catalogs published by Sternberg Press. She authors essays for art magazines and publications regularly and has independently curated shows – most recently the group exhibition “Benefit of the Doubt” at Deborah Schamoni, Munich (2021). Starting in October she will be a doctoral candidate at the Vienna Academy of Fine Arts.

 

EXHIBITED ARTISTS

 

Olivia Coeln, born in Vienna in 1991, lives and works in Vienna.

Olivia Coeln is interested in the forms of projection and mystification of both human and non-human beings, as they emerge from folklore, fables, fairy tales, comics and films. Her ongoing series Carps shows photographs of koi carp taken in aquariums and zoos, with the post-production of the original images forming a central part of Coeln’s working process. Gestures and facial expressions are digitally altered, colors, filters, lights are added and parts of different images are collaged. The Dutch fish auctioneer Adriaen Coenen illustrated a book in the middle of the 16th century in which he combined lifelike studies of different types of marine life as well as imaginary beings, such as dragons and sea monsters. Following this interplay of natural, fantastic and animistic fragments, Olivia Coeln condenses these differing elements into psychedelic picture montages.

 

 

 

Kathi Hofer, born 1981, is an artist based in Berlin and Vienna.

After decades of nomadic living, American artist Tressa Prisbrey (1896-1988) settled in Simi Valley, California, where, without any formal training, she built an unparalleled village: “Grandma Prisbrey’s Bottle Village.” Between 1956 and circa 1972, Prisbrey laboriously mined a local landfill for glass bottles and other discards that she repurposed to create an architectural landscape of walkways, gardens and buildings initially intended to store and display her pencils—a collection of 17,000 items. “Like a pioneer, she built with the material at hand,” architectural historian Esther McCoy wrote of her in 1974. Bottle Village was severely damaged by the Northridge earthquake in 1994, leaving behind architectural remains, the pencils, and an essayistic building and site plan written in 1960 that has autobiographical overtones. Today, what is left of the village is considered a California landmark and one of the few existing monumental art environments created by a woman. Largely unnoticed until now, Prisbrey’s complementary essay recounts the “making-of” of each house, garden, sidewalk, fountain, wishing well, sculpture, and shrine. In it, Prisbrey nonchalantly analyzes the aesthetic, social, and economic values constituting a mid-20th century “California Dream” by analyzing contemporaneous scrap. The artist Kathi Hofer presents the first German translation of Tressa Prisbrey’s extraordinary story. Together with the original English text, she has created an ‘artist’s artist’s book’ that builds on both Hofer’s own conceptual bricolage practice and Prisbrey’s spirit of recycling.

 

 

 

Katharina Höglinger, born in 1983, lives and works in Vienna. Diploma in Painting/Fine Arts at the University of Arts and Design Linz in 2011, scholarship at Kunsthochschule Weißensee, Berlin, at the department of art theory. Recent shows ­including at Wonnerth Dejaco (Vienna), Weston ­Studios, Royal Academy of Art (London), Galeria Quadrado Azul (Lisbon), Belvedere 21 (Vienna), Fettes College (Edinburgh), Cassandra Cassandra (Toronto), Cooper Cole (Toronto), Tower (Vienna), Supermala (Madrid), Feÿ – Rencontres d’arts (Bourgogne, France), M.I/mi1glissé (­Berlin), ­Calaboose (Montreal), Futur II (Paris), and City Surfer Office (Prague). Together with Miles Starr she founded the curatorial ­project SORT.

Katharina Höglinger’s work is fueled by an irresistible drive to reclaim positions of social agency from within the field of contemporary artistic production – between art historical models, the local and global art networks, and the all-encompassing sea of images of social media. Feeding her personal everyday experiences into the machine that is her seemingly carefree re-appropriation of artistic styles and techniques, the artist actively re-inhabits the material and immaterial spaces that make up our social reality. In doing so, Höglinger creates works of an unmistakable lightness and humor that, nevertheless, tell stories of existential severity.

 

 

 

Nikita Kadan is one of the leading figures in Ukrainian art. He is a member of the artist group R.E.P. (Revolutionary Experimental Space) and founding member of Hudrada (Artistic Committee), a curatorial and activist collective.

Nikita Kadan was born 1982 in Kyev.

In the series “Broken Pole”, the artist turns to avant-garde works, but with contemporary interpretation. Nikita Kadan shows the present state’s approach to monuments from the communist period. These monuments have been left to decay or been destroyed.

The BROKEN POLE consists of iron shields covered with hot, and then frozen resin, and photographs printed on silk fabric with images of ruins at the site of hostilities in Donbass. These are photos Nikita Kadan took in 2015 and photos of lost avant-garde works by Vasyl Yermilov.

 

 

 

Jelena Micić, born 1986, Knjaževac, Serbia, graduated with distinction from the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna (2020) from the textual sculpture class (Mentor Heimo Zobernig). MA in Philosophy (2012) and graduated philologist of Scandinavian languages (2010) University of Belgrade. She was awarded the Dimitrije Bašičević Mangelos Art Award (2021), Würdigungspreis der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien for Excellent Artistic Theses (2020), Ö1 Talentestipendium Bildende Kunst (2018) and kültür gemma! Fellowship (2018). Her works are in the collection of the Federal Ministry of Austria (Artothek des Bundes) and in the collection of the City of Vienna. Micić is founder of the informal group UMETNIK*. She lives and works in Vienna as an artist and curator.

Jelena Micić’s special interest lies in the investigation of different cultural and socio-political aspects of color and color systems. Most of her artistic practice includes field work and research-based collecting of visual information. Appropriating the everyday, her work often presupposes chosen patterns of human behavior and acts accompanying their presence. Recently banned disposable plastic is the raw material for Micić’s works presented at viennacontemporary 2021 by Galerie3.

 

 

 

Crrreature Of Habit /  Das Glück ist ein Vogerl
Sculptural room installation, 2021

The installation CRRREATURE OF HABIT is part of a series of works entitled DAS GLÜCK IST EIN VOGERL, which brings together a series of installations in which sculptures of birds are placed in an environment of objects from the human world. Playing with the traditional symbolism of the ceramic bird figure, the installation functions in equal measure as a pedestal and as a setting of the colorful and detailed sculpture in a gray allegory of everyday life. In the case of CRRREATURE OF HABIT, the protagonist is a life-size male peacock sitting behind a freestanding fence door with its full weight on a perch, gazing behind it into an anteroom mirror.

The viewer can only look into the peacock’s eyes in the mirror – and himself only behind bars. According to one of my common sculptural practices, the peacock is composed of bricks that have been carved in their raw state and then fired and glazed several times. The handling of this raw material introduces the ceramic working method to materials of the building industry and architecture, so that the creatures created from this building material vexingly belong to both worlds.

The seemingly simple installation of the old garden door, the welded frame, the rough concrete blocks, and the mirror on the wall becomes, through the figure in its center, a labyrinth of vantage points in which the peacock’s tail of bricks seems feather-light and the situatedness of the peacock reeks of self-imposed imprisonment.

 

 

 

Dan Vogt, born 1989 Kitchener, Canada, lives and works in Vienna.

Dan Vogt is an artist currently living and working in Vienna. He explores the relationship between the public and the private – the inside and the outside. His work, spanning various media, is narrative in structure and often contains parts of the artist’s own personal history.

Viennacontemporary

ZONE1

Kuratorin: Franziska Sophie Wildförster

 

C04 Olivia Coeln I Georg Kargl Fine Arts
C02 Kathi Hofer I Gabriele Senn Galerie
C03 Katharina Höglinger I Wonnerth Dejaco
C06 Nikita Kadan I Voloshyn Gallery
C07 Jelena Micić I Galerie3
C08 Michèle Pagel I Meyer Kainer
C01 Dan Vogt I Shore

 

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Bundesministerium für Kunst, Kultur, öffentlichen Dienst und Sport.


Das Ausstellungsformat ZONE1 präsentiert ausschließlich KünstlerInnen unter 40 Jahren, die in Österreich leben, arbeiten oder studiert haben. Seit 2015 zählt ZONE1 zu den Highlights der Messe und erfreut sich größter Beliebtheit bei KunstexpertInnen und BesucherInnen.

 

“Wien ist in geografischer als auch in kreativer Hinsicht ein Knotenpunkt von historischer Dichte, in welchem in jüngster Zeit aber neue Impulse gesetzt wurden. Gründe dafür scheinen die beiden hervorragenden Kunstakademien, verlässliche staatliche Fördersysteme aber auch eine allgemeine Verschiebung von Aufmerksamkeit, welche sich in Krisenzeiten von den einst unbestrittenen Kunst- und Finanzmetropolen wegbewegt. viennacontemporary ist unter der neuen künstlerischen Leitung von Boris Ondreicka ein Versuch, diese Dynamiken nicht nur abzubilden sondern auch kritisch zu erweitern. Ich bin froh, mit der Kuration von ZONE1 ein Teil dieses Unternehmens zu sein, welche die Vitalität der Stadt widerspiegelt. Mit einer Balance aus Galerien der ersten Stunde und solcher der jüngeren Generationen, zeigt ZONE1 sowohl aufstrebende als auch solche Positionen, welche bisher weniger Aufmerksamkeit bekommen haben und feministische, sozialökonomische und ökologische Herangehensweisen formulieren.”

— Franziska Sophie Wildförster

 

Franziska Sophie Wildförster ist Kuratorin in München und Wien. Sie ist Co-Direktorin und Mitbegründerin des Kunstvereins Kevin Space in Wien, der Ausstellungen und Projekte von Basel Abbas & Ruanne Abou-Rahme, Alex Baczynski-Jenkins, Lydia Ourahmane, Evelyn Toacheng Wang und Kandis Williams gezeigt hat und war Kuratorin von MINI / Goethe-Institut Curatorial Residencies New York im Jahr 2019. Von 2014 bis 2017 war sie Mitglied der kuratorischen Abteilung von Thyssen-Bornemisza Art Contemporary, wo sie als Mitherausgeberin verschiedener Ausstellungskataloge von Sternberg Press verantwortete. Sie verfasst regelmäßig Essays für Kunstmagazine und Publikationen und hat eigenständig Ausstellungen kuratiert – zuletzt die Gruppenausstellung „Benefit of the Doubt“ bei Deborah Schamoni, München (2021). Ab Oktober ist sie Doktorandin an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien.

 

AUSGESTELLTE KÜNSTLERINNEN

 

Olivia Coeln, born in Vienna in 1991, lives and works in Vienna.

Olivia Coelns Interesse gilt den Formen von Projektion und Mystifikation menschlicher und nichtmenschlicher Wesen wie sie aus folkloristischen Erzählungen, Fabeln, Märchen, Comics und Filmen hervorgehen. Ihre laufende Serie Carps zeigt Fotografien von Koi-Karpfen, die in Aquarien und Zoos aufgenommen wurden, wobei die Postproduktion der Ausgangsbilder einen zentralen Teil von Coelns Arbeitsprozess bildet. Gestik und Mimik werden dabei digital verfremdet, Farben, Filter und Lichter hinzugefügt sowie Teile verschiedener Bilder collagiert. Der holländische Fischauktionator Adriaen Coenen illustrierte Mitte des 16. Jahrhunderts ein Buch, worin er naturgetreue Studien unterschiedlicher Arten von Meeresbewohnern sowie imaginäre Wesen wie etwa Drachen und Seeungeheuer vereinte. Olivia Coeln folgt diesem Wechselspiel natürlicher, phantastischer wie auch animistischer Fragmente und verdichtet diese zu psychedelischen Bildmontagen.

 

 

 

Kathi Hofer, geboren 1981, lebt als Künstlerin in Berlin und Wien.

Die US-amerikanische Künstlerin Tressa Prisbrey (1896-1988) ließ sich nach Jahrzehnten des nomadischen Lebens im südkalifornischen Simi Valley nieder, um dort als Autodidaktin ein beispielloses Dorf zu bauen: “Grandma Prisbrey’s Bottle Village”. Angeleitet von der Idee, einen Ort für ihre rund 17.000 Stück zählende Bleistiftsammlung zu schaffen, entwickelte Prisbrey zwischen 1956 und circa 1972 eine monumentale Architekturlandschaft bestehend aus Glasflaschen und anderen weggeworfenen Gegenständen, die sie von der örtlichen Mülldeponie holte und auf ihrem Grundstück einbetonierte. „Like a pioneer, she built with the material at hand”, schrieb die Architekturhistorikerin Esther McCoy 1974 über sie. 1994 wurde Bottle Village vom Northridge-Erdbeben stark beschädigt. Zurück blieben architektonische Überreste, die Bleistifte, sowie ein 1960 verfasster essayistischer Bau- und Lageplan, der autobiografische Züge trägt. Wenngleich nur mehr Ruinen stehen, gilt Bottle Village heute als ein kalifornisches Wahrzeichen. Bislang weitgehend unbeachtet, erzählt Prisbreys komplementärer Essay vom Making-of jedes einzelnen Hauses, Gartens, Gehweges, Spring- und Wunschbrunnens, jeder Skulptur und jedes Schreins. Nebenbei analysiert Prisbrey darin die ästhetischen, gesellschaftlichen und ökonomischen Wertvorstellungen des “Kalifornischen Traums” der 1950er und 60er Jahre anhand dessen, was von ihm als Schrott liegen blieb. Die Künstlerin Kathi Hofer legt die erste deutsche Übersetzung von Tressa Prisbreys Lebens- und Werkgeschichte vor. Zusammen mit dem englischen Originaltext hat sie ein ‚Artist’s Artist’s Book‘ gestaltet, das an Hofers eigene konzeptuelle Bricolage-Praxis anschließt und sich darin mit Prisbreys Spirit des Recyclings verbindet.

 

 

 

Katharina Höglinger, geboren 1983, lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Studium Malerei/­Bildende Kunst an der Kunstuniversität Linz, Abschluss 2011, Auslandsstipendium an der Kunsthochschule Weißensee am ­Institut für Kunsttheorie. Zuletzt waren ihre Arbeiten u. a. zu sehen bei ­Wonnerth ­Dejaco (Wien), Weston Studios, Royal Academy of Art (London), ­Galeria Quadrado Azul (­Lissabon), ­Belvedere 21 (Wien), ­Fettes College (Edinburgh), ­Cassandra Cassandra und Cooper Cole (­beide ­Toronto), Tower (Wien), Supermala (­Madrid), Feÿ – Rencontres d’arts (Bourgogne, Frankreich), M.I/mi1glissé (Berlin), Calaboose (Montreal), Futur II (Paris) und City Surfer Office (Prag). Gemeinsam mit Myles Starr gründete sie das kuratorische Projekt SORT.

Katharina Höglingers Arbeit wird von ­einem unwiderstehlichen Drang angetrieben, ­Positionen sozialer Handlungsfähigkeit aus dem Feld der zeitgenössischen Kunstproduktion zurückzuerobern – ­zwischen kunsthistorischen Modellen, den lokalen und globalen Kunstnetzwerken und dem allumfassenden Bildermeer der sozialen Medien. Indem sie ihre persönlichen Alltagserfahrungen in die Maschine ihrer scheinbar unbekümmerten Wiederaneignung künstlerischer Stile und Techniken einspeist, bearbeitet die Künstlerin aktiv die materiellen und immateriellen Räume, die unsere soziale Realität ausmachen. Dabei schafft Höglinger Werke von unverwechselbarer Leichtigkeit und Humor, die dennoch Geschichten von existentiellem Gewicht erzählen.

 

 

 

Nikita Kadan ist eine der führenden Persönlichkeiten der ukrainischen Kunst. Er ist Mitglied der Künstlergruppe R.E.P. (Revolutionary Experimental Space) und Gründungsmitglied des kuratorischen und aktivistischen Kollektivs Hudrada (künstlerisches Komitee).

Nikita Kadan wurde 1982 in Kiew geboren.

In der Serie “Broken Pole” widmet sich der Künstler Arbeiten der Avantgarde, jedoch mit zeitgenössischen Interpretationen. Nikita Kadan zeigt Formen des Umgangs des heutigen Staates mit Monumenten aus der Zeit des Kommunismus, welche entweder sich selbst überlassen werden und verfallen, oder zerstört wurden. Die Serie “Broken Pole” besteht aus eisernen Schildern, die mit heißem, hernach gefrorenem Harz überzogen sind, sowie aus Seidenstoffen, die mit Fotografien von Ruinen an Orten der feindlichen Auseinandersetzungen im Donbass bedruckt sind. Es handelt sich hierbei um Fotografien, die Nikita Kadan im Jahr 2015 gemacht hat, und um solche von zerstörten oder verlorengegangenen Arbeiten des Avantgardekünstlers Vasyl Yermilov.

 

 

 

Jelena Micić, geboren 1986 in Knjaževac, Serbien, absolvierte 2020 die Klasse für Textuelle Bildhauerei von Heimo Zobernig an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien mit Auszeichnung. MA in Philosophie (2012) und diplomierte Philologin der skandinavischen Sprachen (2010) an der Universität Belgrad. Sie wurde ausgezeichnet mit dem Dimitrije Bašičević Mangelos Art Award (2021), dem Würdigungspreis der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien für hervorragende künstlerische Abschlussarbeiten (2020), dem Ö1 Talentestipendium Bildende Kunst (2018) und der kültür gemma! Fellowship (2018). Ihre Werke befinden sich in der Sammlung des Bundesministeriums (Artothek des Bundes) und in der Sammlung der Stadt Wien. Micić ist Gründerin der informellen Gruppe UMETNIK*. Sie lebt und arbeitet als Künstlerin und Kuratorin in Wien.

Jelena Micić’ besonderes Interesse gilt der Erforschung verschiedener kultureller und soziopolitischer Aspekte von Farbe und Farbsystemen. Der Großteil ihrer künstlerischen Praxis umfasst Feldarbeit und forschungsbasiertes Sammeln visueller Informationen. Indem sie sich das Alltägliche aneignet, gehen ihre Arbeiten oft von ausgewählten menschlichen Verhaltensmustern und Handlungen aus, die deren Auftreten begleiten. Das kürzlich verbotene Einwegplastik ist Rohmaterial für Micić’ Arbeiten, die auf viennacontemporary 2021 von der Galerie3 präsentiert werden.

 

 

 

Crrreature Of Habit / Das Glück ist ein Vogerl
Skulpturale Rauminstallation, 2021
Glasierte Ziegelsteine, Klebemörtel, Metall, Lack, Bauzaunsteine, Zimmerspiegel

Die Installation CRRREATURE OF HABIT  ist Teil einer Serie von Arbeiten, die unter dem Titel DAS GLÜCK IST EIN VOGERL eine Reihe von Installationen zusammenfasst, in denen Skulpturen von Vögeln in eine Umgebung aus Gegenständen der Menschenwelt gesetzt werden. Im Spiel mit dem tradierten Symbolismus der keramischen Vogelfigur fungiert die Installation im gleichen Maß sowohl als Podest als auch als Setzung der farben- und detailreichen Skulptur in eine graue Allegorie des Alltags. Im Fall von CRRREATURE OF HABIT ist der Protagonist ein lebensgroßer männlicher Pfau, der hinter einer frei stehenden Zauntür mit seinem ganzen Gewicht auf einer Stange sitzt und in einen Vorzimmerspiegel hinter sich blickt.

Der/Die BetrachterIn kann dem Pfau nur im Spiegel in die Augen sehen – und sich selbst dabei nur hinter Gittern. Der Pfau ist entsprechend einer gängigen skulpturalen Praktik aus Ziegelsteinen zusammengesetzt, die im Rohzustand geschnitzt und danach mehrfach gebrannt und glasiert wurden. Der Umgang mit diesem Rohstoff führt eine keramische Arbeitsweise an Materialien der Bauindustrie und der Architektur heran, sodass die aus diesem Baustoff entstandenen Lebewesen vexierend beiden Welten angehören.

Die scheinbar einfache Anlage aus der alten Gartentür, dem geschweißten Rahmen, den groben Betonsteinen, und dem Spiegel an der Wand wird durch die Figur in ihrem Zentrum zu einem Labyrinth aus Blickwinkeln, in dem der Pfauenschweif aus Ziegeln federleicht wirkt und die Situiertheit des Pfaus nach selbstgewähltem Gefängnis riecht.

 

 

 

Dan Vogt, geboren 1989 in Kitchener, Kanada, lebt und arbeitet in Wien.

Dan Vogt ist ein Künstler, der derzeit in Wien lebt und arbeitet. Er untersucht die Beziehungen zwischen dem Innen und dem Außen, dem Privaten und dem Öffentlichen. Seine Arbeiten, die verschiedenste Medien umfassen, sind strukturell narrativ und enthalten oft Teile der eigenen persönlichen Geschichte des Künstlers.