viennacontemporary

ZONE1

ZONE1 With the kind support of the Austrian Federal Chancellery.
Curator: Fiona Liewehr
F12 | F13 | F14 | F15 | F16 | F17 | F18 | F19 | F20 | F23

In the special shows of ZONE1, the art historian, curator, and author Fiona Liewehr will present positions of young artists who, through their education, work, or origin, have a local connection to Austria. ZONE1 gives pride of place to fresh and exciting positions and never fails to amaze its visitors with an exceptional array of new discoveries and surprises.

Fiona Liewehr is an art historian, curator, and writer/editor based in Vienna. Her experience is based on both an institutional background (Belvedere Museum Vienna and mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien) and the art market (director of Georg Kargl Fine Arts).

Those who saw Today in Yesterday,
do not care too much about Today,
And those who see Tomorrow in Today,
will move, will not worry.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

This year’s edition of ZONE 1, which once again focuses on artists under the age of 40 who live, study or work in Austria, has set itself the goal of strengthening international networking. Six of the ten galleries come from abroad, and the artists they represent work with the media of painting, sculpture, photography, and performative-installation staging. Having grown up in a digitized world, mobility and constant global exchange are taken for granted, and the accelerated adaptation to change is normality. At the same time, it is with growing skepticism that they meet our increasingly dissonant society suffering from overstimulation mixed with a state of cultural exhaustion and the virally spreading, but illusionary reality.

 

The Participants are:

Thomas Geiger I SPERLING
Thomas Geiger (*1983 in Germany) is working at the intersections between public, private, and institutional spaces. With elements from performance and sculpture, his works can be described as fragmentary stages that create playful situations to examine social realities. Often, these works are not based on the notions of individuality but include the audience or other artists’ works. Over the past years, he has realized solo projects with Kunstverein Langenhagen, Simultanhalle (Köln), Museum Tinguely (Basel), Despacio (San José), Fondation d‘entreprise Ricard (Paris), or Museo de Arte Contemporaneo (Santiago de Chile). Since 2016, he is running the project Kunsthalle3000, an institution that functions as intervention, located in the public realm.

 


 


Eva Koťátková I hunt kastner
Eva Kotáťková (*1982 in Prague, Czech Republic) studied at the Prague Academy of Fine Arts (2002-2007), the Prague Academy of Applied Arts (2004), the San Francisco Art Institute (2005), and the Akademie Bildende Künste Wien (2005-2006). In 2007 – at the age of 25 – she became the youngest artist ever to receive the Jindřich Chalupecký Award for young artists in the Czech Republic. In addition to her ongoing art practice, she has recently been active in the field of animal rights and is currently developing a syllabus for a new school subject based on the concept of unlearning, empathy, and activism. She is a co-founder of the platform “Institute of Anxiety” that regards anxiety as a result of social, political, economic, and ecological forces. It argues that the potential for positive change lays in the attempts of structural changes and system critique, but also in diverse acts of sharing.

 


 


Luiza Margan I Structura Gallery
Luiza Margan (*in Rijeka, Croatia) is a visual artist working with installation, sculpture, video, and public space. She lives in Vienna and Rijeka. She explores the relations between the private and the public and looks at the ways public space and cultural identities are established through the inscription of historical narratives and ideological shifts, as well as at the role of art within them. Her works are process-oriented and informed through archives, field research, or walking, as well as collecting and re-contextualizing of found materials into objects and installations. Margan has participated in numerous exhibitions, public space actions, and artist talks. Her works are part of several art collections like the Generali Foundation in Salzburg, Museum of Contemporary Art – 21 Haus Vienna, Contemporary Art Museum in Zagreb, Tobacco Museum in Ljubljana, and private collections. In 2019, she was a visual artist fellow at the Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart.

 


 


Markus Proschek I SVIT
Markus Proschek (*1981 in Schwarzach im Pongau, Austria) studied at the University of Applied Arts, Vienna. Today he lives and works in Berlin. Proschek‘s paintings and sculptures revolve around the ambiguous potential of ideological imagery, referring to recent culture wars and their precarious masculinities, and to the claims and failures of iconoclastic gestures.

 


 


Stefan Reiterer I Galerie CRONE
Since the beginning of his artistic practice, Stefan Reiterer (*1988 in Waidhofen an der Thaya, Austria) has been examining the characteristics of analogue and digital visual languages and their relation to the visual-spacial reality. In his works he edits the screenshots of landscapes taken via Google Earth. Existing picture elements are shifted and distorted, pictures are newly composed and overlaid. These altered graphics are then transferred to large-format canvases or MDF plates, whereby the viewer can finally observe digitally altered realities transferred into painting. These large-format translations of digital cartography is put in contrast with the smaller collaged or painted studies. The series portrays the contrast between different paces and processes of work – picturesque snapshots as counterweights and opposites of elaborate work.

 

Therefore, they increasingly devote themselves to democratic and collaborative work processes and material experiences of reality – because when connectivity is everywhere, experiencing the real and the material becomes special. In sculpture, this is expressed in the combination of diverging materials and of traditional craftsmanship with modern digital technologies; in photography, it is expressed in the exploration of its instrumental basics, ways of staging, and the manipulation of reality; and in painting, it is shown in the analytical translation of often digital templates into collage-like, technically adept formulations. In installation settings and with performative instructions, the artists raise questions about the loss and surveillance of private space and the economization and regulation of the public sphere and deal with topics such as historical constructions, everchanging socio-political orders, and gender roles.

ZONE1 2019 sees itself as an international creative discourse platform, where young artists and their gallerists – each individually and together – can engage, discuss, and envision with the visitors. Because only those who see tomorrow in the today will move, will not worry!
Fiona Liewehr, curator of ZONE1

Additional event:

ZONE1 Hamam
hosted by Robby Greif & Fiona Liewehr
With an artistic intervention by Maruša Sagadin et al.
Friday, September 27, 2019: 9:00 pm – 1:00 am
Saturday, September 28, 2019: 7:00 pm – 1:00 am
Ennsgasse 19 | 1020 Vienna

 

 

 

 

 


Titania Seidl I Raum mit Licht
Titania Seidl (*1988 in Vienna, Austria) is concerned with the construction of the female self and the narrative strategies that feed into this construction. An avid reader of all kinds of fiction, Seidl is interested in both the auctorial voice (How are female characters described by male narrators? How do female authors describe their characters?) and the corruption of that voice by appropriative techniques (the re-writing happening in the translation of texts into different languages, e.g.). She then translates these concerns into paintings, a medium that’s still emblematic for a certain image of male genius, yet also accessible to a non-specialist audience. Seidl uses images from different sources – art history, subculture, comics, self-help literature, her own sketches – and tries to unbalance the hierarchies between these different sources, using the canvas as a unifier. 

 


 


Marina Sula I Gabriele Senn Galerie
Marina Sula (*1991 in Lezhe, Albania) lives and works in Vienna. She completed her studies at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna in 2018. Sula´s practice incorporates photography, collage, drawing, sculpture, and installation. She stages conflicting and immersive installations where novel relationships of the personal and the socialized are being challenged. She explores ambiguous systemic dynamics between individuals and society vis-à-vis the logics of the institution and reception of art.

 


 


Sophie Thun I Sophie Tappeiner
Sophie Thun (*1985) lives and works in Vienna. Her multi-layered photographic interventions, which revolve around the construction of the self in the conflicted space of representation, complicate the relationship between the imaginary pictorial space of the image and the real space of the viewer. By revealing the sites, mechanisms, and performances inherent in the production of the image, Thun breaks its seamless illusion, honestly documenting the performance of its construction. Images, like self-representations, are not objective representations of reality, but tricky, superimposed, staged processes developing over time. Often using her own body and self-portraiture as tools to examine and question established concepts, Thun consistently meets her audience with a steady gaze, challenging us to reconsider our thoughtless consumption of photographs.

 


 


Julian Turner I FILIALE
Julian Turner (*1985), who relocated from Hamburg to Vienna long ago, studied under Amelie von Wulffen and Julian Göthe. In Vienna, he launched Bar du Bois, a traveling exhibition space with culinary delights. Quotation, self-quotation, and material quotation shake hands. Photos replace objects and objects replace photos, coupled with interpretations of materials. In a quirky, sensitive manner, everyday aesthetics are continued and released, which only seem to reveal their underlying charm in their re-interpretation. Reminiscences of Derrida and Benjamin. The material quotation replaces the material and overshadows the “original“, and the artwork resists technological reproducibility.

 


 


Marcin Zarzeka I Dawid Radziszewski
Marcin Zarzeka (*1985) lives and works in Vienna. He studied at the Academy of Fine Arts in Kraków and the Academy of Fine Arts in Vienna. In his work, he focuses mostly on objects, minimalistic in form, usually designed to be hung on walls. He creates constructions made of glass, plaster, foam boards, and other architectural materials that can leave subtle traces. Glass panels give the illusionary effect. The individual layers merge, losing the line between what is the combination of individual components, pieces of foam, gaps between the panes of glass or elements that are painted or drawn. In 2013, Zarzeka received the first prize at Augarten Contemporary.

viennacontemporary

ZONE1

ZONE1 Mit freundlicher Unterstützung des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich.
Kuratorin: Fiona Liewehr
F12 | F13 | F14 | F15 | F16 | F17 | F18 | F19 | F20 | F23

In den Sonderschauen von ZONE1 stellt die Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin und Autorin Fiona Liewehr Positionen junger KünstlerInnen vor, die durch ihre Ausbildung, Arbeit oder Herkunft eine lokale Verbindung zu Österreich haben. ZONE1 überzeugt regelmäßig mitaußergewöhnlichen Neuentdeckungen und Überraschungen.

Fiona Liewehr ist Kunsthistorikerin, Kuratorin und Autorin/Herausgeberin in Wien. Erfahrungen sammelte sie sowohl in einem institutionellen Umfeld (Belvedere Museum Wien und mumok – Museum moderner Kunst Stiftung Ludwig Wien) als auch auf dem Kunstmarkt (Direktorin Georg Kargl Fine Arts).

Wer im Gestern Heute sah,
dem geht das Heute nicht allzu nah,
und wer im Heute sieht das Morgen,
der wird sich rühren, wird nicht sorgen.
Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

Die diesjährige Ausgabe der ZONE 1, die ihren Fokus erneut auf KünstlerInnen unter 40 Jahre legt, die in Österreich leben, studieren oder einen Arbeitsaufenthalt hatten, setzt es sich zum Ziel, die internationale Vernetzung zu verstärken. Sechs der insgesamt zehn Galerien stammen aus dem Ausland, die KünstlerInnen, die sie vertreten, setzen sich mit den Medien Malerei, Skulptur, Fotografie und performativ-installativer Inszenierung auseinander. Allesamt aufgewachsen in einer digitalisierten Welt, ist Mobilität und ständiger globaler Austausch eine Selbstverständlichkeit und die beschleunigte Adaption an Veränderungen Normalität. Gleichzeitig begegnen sie einer zwischen Überstimulierung und kulturellem Erschöpfungszustand leidender, zunehmend dissonanten 

 

Zu den TeilnehmerInnen gehören:

 

Thomas Geiger I SPERLING
Thomas Geiger (*1983 in Deutschland) arbeitet an der Schnittstelle von öffentlichem, privatem und institutionellem Raum. Seine Arbeiten, die Elementen aus Performance und Skulptur vereinen, lassen sich als fragmentarische Bühnen beschreiben, die spielerische Situationen schaffen, um soziale Realitäten zu untersuchen. Oft basieren diese Arbeiten nicht auf dem Gedanken der Individualität, sondern beziehen das Publikum oder die Werke anderer KünstlerInnen ein. In den letzten Jahren realisierte er Soloprojekte mit dem Kunstverein Langenhagen, der Simultanhalle (Köln), dem Museum Tinguely (Basel), Despacio (San José), der Fondation d’entreprise Ricard (Paris) oder dem Museo de Arte Contemporaneo (Santiago de Chile). Seit 2016 leitet er das Projekt Kunsthalle3000, eine Institution, die als Intervention fungiert und im öffentlichen Raum angesiedelt ist.

 


 


Eva Koťátková I hunt kastner
Eva Kotáťková (*1982 in Prag, Tschechien) studierte an der Prager Akademie der bildenden Künste (2002-2007), der Prager Akademie für Angewandte Kunst (2004), dem San Francisco Art Institute (2005) und der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien (2005 – 2006). Mit 25 Jahren war sie 2007 die jüngste Künstlerin, die jemals den Jindřich Chalupecký-Preis für junge KünstlerInnen in der Tschechischen Republik erhalten hat. Neben ihrer fortwährenden künstlerischen Praxis war sie in jüngerer Zeit im Bereich Tierrechte tätig und entwickelt derzeit einen Lehrplan für ein neues Schulfach, das auf dem Konzept von Freilernen, Empathie und Aktivismus basiert. Sie ist Mitbegründerin der Plattform „Institute of Anxiety“, die das Potenzial für positive Veränderungen in den Bemühungen um strukturelle Veränderung und Systemkritik, aber auch in verschiedenen Arten des Teilens verortet.

 


 


Luiza Margan I Structura Gallery
Luiza Margan (*Rijeka, Kroatien) ist eine bildende Künstlerin, die mit Installation, Skulptur, Video und dem öffentlichen Raum arbeitet. Sie lebt in Rijeka und Wien. Margan untersucht die Beziehungen zwischen Privatem und Öffentlichem und erforscht, wie öffentlicher Raum und kulturelle Identitäten durch Geschichtsschreibung und ideologische Verschiebungen gebildet werden und welche Rolle der Kunst dabei einnimmt. Ihre Arbeiten sind prozessorientiert und werden durch Archive, Feldforschung oder Spaziergänge unterfüttert sowie durch das Sammeln und die Rekontextualisierung gefundener Materialien zu Objekten und Installationen. Margan hat an zahlreichen Ausstellungen, Aktionen im öffentlichen Raum und KünstlerInnengesprächen teilgenommen. Ihre Werke sind Teil mehrerer Kunstsammlungen, wie etwa der Generali Foundation in Salzburg, des Museums für zeitgenössische Kunst – 21 Haus Wien, des Museums für zeitgenössische Kunst in Zagreb, des Tabakmuseums in Ljubljana und privater Sammlungen. 2019 war sie Stipendiatin für Visuelle Kunst & Medien an der Akademie Schloss Solitude in Stuttgart.

 


 


Markus Proschek I SVIT
Markus Proschek (*1981 in Schwarzach im Pongau) studierte an der Universität für angewandte Kunst Wien. Heute lebt er in Berlin. Proscheks Malerei und Skulpturen drehen sich um das vieldeutige Potential ideologischer Bilder, die sich auf die jüngsten Kulturkriege und ihre prekären Männlichkeiten sowie auf die Behauptungen und Misserfolge ikonoklastischer Gesten beziehen.

 


 


Stefan Reiterer I Galerie CRONE
Seit Beginn seiner künstlerischen Tätigkeit untersucht Stefan Reiterer (*1988 in Waidhofen an der Thaya) in seinen Arbeiten die Charakteristika analoger und digitaler Bildsprachen und deren Relation zur visuell-räumlichen Wirklichkeit.
In seinen Werken werden etwa Google Earth Landschafts-Screenshots in Bildprogrammen bearbeitet. Bestehende Bildelemente werden verschoben und verzerrt, Bilder neu komponiert und überlagert. Diese veränderten Grafiken werden anschließend auf großformatige Leinwände oder MDF-Platten übertragen, wobei sich den BetrachterInnen schließlich in die Malerei überführte, digital verfremdete Realitäten darbieten.
Dieser großformatigen Übersetzung von digitaler Kartographie stehen kleinere collagierte oder gemalte Studien gegenüber. Sie zeigen den Gegensatz unterschiedlicher Abeitstempi und -prozesse, malerische Momentaufnahmen als Gegengewichte und Kontrahenten zur elaborierten Arbeit.

Gesellschaft und der viral verbreiteten, nur scheinbaren Realität mit wachsender Skepsis. Vermehrt widmen sie sich daher demokratischen und kollaborativen Arbeitsprozessen und materiellen Wirklichkeitserfahrungen – denn, wenn die Connectivity überall ist, wird das reale Erleben und das Materielle zum Besonderen. Das äußert sich in der Skulptur in der Kombination von divergierenden Materialien und der Verbindung von traditionellem Handwerk mit modernen digitalen Technologien, in der Fotografie in der Erforschung ihrer apparativen Grundlagen, ihrer Inszenierung und Realitätsmanipulation und in der Malerei in der analytischen Übersetzung von oft digitalen Vorlagen in collageartige, technisch versierte Formulierungen. In installativen Settings und mit performativen Handlungsanweisungen werfen die KünstlerInnen Fragen auf um die Verluste und die Überwachung des Privaten und die Ökonomisierung und Reglementierung des öffentlichen Raums und setzen sich mit Themen wie Geschichtskonstruktion, sich verändernder gesellschaftspolitischen Ordnungen und Geschlechterrollen auseinander.

Die ZONE1 2019 versteht sich als internationale, kreative Diskursplattform, in der die jungen KünstlerInnen und ihre GaleristInnen für sich und gemeinsam mit den BesucherInnen (ver)handeln, diskutieren und visionieren können. Denn nur wer im Heute sieht das Morgen, der wird sich rühren, wird nicht sorgen!
Fiona Liewehr, Kuratorin der ZONE1

Zusätzliche Veranstaltung:

ZONE1 Hamam
veranstaltet von Robby Greif & Fiona Liewehr
Mit einer künstlerischen Intervention von Maruša Sagadin et al.
Freitag, 27. September 2019: 21:00 – 1:00 Uhr
Samstag, 28. September 2019: 19:00 – 1:00 Uhr
Ennsgasse 19 | 1020 Wien

 

 

 


Titania Seidl I Raum mit Licht
Titania Seidl (*1988 in Wien) beschäftigt sich mit der Konstruktion des weiblichen Selbst und den narrativen Strategien, die in diese Konstruktion einfließen. Als begeisterte Leserin aller Arten von Belletristik interessiert sich Seidl sowohl für die Stimme der AutorInnen (Wie werden weibliche Charaktere von männlichen Erzählern beschrieben? Wie beschreiben Autorinnen ihre Charaktere?) als auch für die Verfälschung dieser Stimmen durch entsprechende Techniken (z.B die Umschreibung bei der Übersetzung von Texten in verschiedene Sprachen). Anschließend übersetzt sie diese Bedenken in Malerei, ein Medium, das immer noch für ein bestimmtes Bild von männlichem Genie steht, aber auch einem nicht spezialisierten Publikum zugänglich ist. Seidl verwendet Bilder aus verschiedenen Quellen – Kunstgeschichte, Subkultur, Comics, Selbsthilfeliteratur, eigene Skizzen – und versucht, die Hierarchien zwischen diesen verschiedenen Quellen aus dem Gleichgewicht zu bringen, indem sie die Leinwand als gemeinsamen Nenner nutzt.

 


 


Marina Sula I Gabriele Senn Galerie
Marina Sula (*1991 in Lezhe, Albanien) lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Ihr Studium schloss sie 2018 an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien ab.
Sulas Praxis umfasst Fotografie, Collage, Zeichnung, Skulptur und Installation. Sie inszeniert widersprüchliche und eindringliche Installationen, in denen neuartige Beziehungen zwischen dem Persönlichem und dem Sozialisiertem in Frage gestellt werden. Sie untersucht die mehrdeutige systemische Dynamik zwischen Individuum und Gesellschaft und stellt sie der Logik der Institution und der Rezeption von Kunst gegenüber.

 


 


Sophie Thun I Sophie Tappeiner
Sophie Thun (*1985) lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Ihre vielschichtige fotografische
Interventionen, die sich um die Konstruktion des Selbst im widersprüchlichen Raum der Repräsentation drehen, verkomplizieren die Beziehung zwischen dem imaginären Bildraum des Werkes und dem realen Raum des Betrachters. Indem sie die Standorte, Mechanismen und Aktionen freilegt, die bei der Produktion des Bildes beteiligt waren, dokumentiert Thun offen die Konstruktionsprozesse ihrer Werke und zerstört damit deren makellose Illusion. Bilder, wie Selbstdarstellungen, sind keine objektiven Repräsentationen der Realität, sondern knifflige, überlagerte, inszenierte Prozesse, die sich im Laufe der Zeit entwickeln. Indem sie häufig ihren eigenen Körper und ihr Selbstporträt als Hilfsmittel benutzt, um etablierte Konzepte zu untersuchen und zu hinterfragen, begegnet Thun ihrem Publikum konsequent mit einem unverwandten Blick, der uns auffordert, unseren gedankenlosen Konsum von Fotografie zu hinterfragen.

 


 


Julian Turner I FILIALE
Julian Turner (*1985), der vor langer Zeit von Hamburg nach Wien gezogen ist, studierte bei Amelie von Wulffen und Julian Göthe. In Wien eröffnete er die Bar du Bois, einen Wanderausstellungsraum mit kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten. Zitat, Selbstzitat und Materialzitat geben sich die Hand. Fotos ersetzen Objekte und Objekte ersetzen Fotos, gepaart mit Interpretationen von Materialien. Auf eine skurrile, einfühlsame Art und Weise werden alltägliche Ästhetiken fort- und freigesetzt, die ihren zugrunde liegenden Charme erst in ihrer Neuinterpretation zu offenbaren scheinen. Erinnerungen an Derrida und Benjamin. Das Materialzitat ersetzt das Material und überschattet das „Original“, und das Kunstwerk widersteht der technologischen Reproduzierbarkeit.

 


 


Marcin Zarzeka I Dawid Radziszewski
Marcin Zarzeka (*1985) lebt und arbeitet in Wien. Er studierte an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Krakau und der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Wien. In seiner Arbeit konzentriert er sich hauptsächlich auf minimalistisch geformte Objekte, die normalerweise zum Aufhängen an Wänden entworfen wurden. Er schafft Konstruktionen aus Glas, Gips, Schaumstoffplatten und anderen architektonischen Materialien, die subtile Spuren hinterlassen. Glasscheiben erzeugen den illusionären Effekt. Die einzelnen Schichten verschmelzen und verlieren die Linien, die der Unterscheidung zwischen den einzelnen Komponenten, Materialien und bemalten und gezeichneten Elementen dienen. 2013 erhielt Zarzeka den ersten Preis bei Augarten Contemporary.