viennacontemporary

Talks

Talks Program
Talks Area | Booth C32

 

Talks: WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Curator: Kimberly Bradley
28–30 September, 3:30 pm, 5:00 pm

Where are we now is a series of conversations and discussions that will assess and reflect upon the viability of our current art-world models, as well as predict possible outcomes of change. As part of viennacontemporarys daily program, critic/journalist Kimberly Bradley has assembled these talks, all engaging with different aspects of the art world’s current state of flux – in Vienna and far beyond – seen from the perspectives of artists, international collectors, museum directors, dealers, critics, and curators.

An American based in Berlin and Vienna, Kimberly Bradley straddles the worlds of mainstream cultural journalism and art criticism. Her work’s origins are in journalism, a field in which she remains active. Bradley regularly contributes to The New York Times, primarily on art-world issues or artists, but also news. She is also the Vienna correspondent of London-based Monocle magazine, writing general-interest pieces and often appearing on Monocle’s web radio station as an art critic. Her criticism and art-related opinion pieces appear in publications including Art-Agenda, ArtReview, Frieze, and Mousse.
Bradley frequently edits catalogues and monographs for major museums and institutions in the German-speaking world. She was the copy editor of Texte zur Kunst magazine for four years, and has edited the English-language publications for the southern German residency program Akademie Schloss Solitude since 1999. Since 2013, Bradley has been a lecturer on contemporary art practices and theory at New York University’s Berlin branch. In 2016 and 2017, she taught an intensive art-writing course at the Salzburg Summer Academy of Fine Arts.

 

Collectors Talks
Curator: Vivian Gandelsman
28–30 September, 2:00 pm

Artload “A-live” interview series at viennacontemporary is offering exclusive insights into challenges and strategies of starting a purposeful art collection, on individual approaches to collecting, on ways to use private collections as a means to give back to the public. The Artload platform provides both local and global critical perspectives on contemporary art through its interviews with the most influential people on the international art circuit.

Vivian Gandelsman is a contemporary art researcher and consultant. Based in São Paulo, she has more than ten years of experience in the international art circuit of galleries, fairs, and biennials. Since 2014, Gandelsman has been doing an incessant work of mapping out the primary art market, having done more than 200 video interviews with artists, curators, critics, gallerists, collectors, and other figures of the art world. This journey of conversations reveals her deep knowledge and involvement with the local and international art scene, which has earned her invitations to act as consultant to art fairs and other people interested in the contemporary artistic production. The research she has done for Artload represents, more than a personal and professional accomplishment, her concern for preserving the memory of the present time and sharing sensitive and critical experiences that take place in the backstage of the art world.

 

Media Talks
28–30 September, 12:30 pm

For the third year running, viennacontemporary gives the floor to media outlets, such as EIKON, Collectors Agenda, PARNASS, to voice their views on the contemporary art world.

 

On Thursday, 27 September, viennacontemporary will host special events at the Talks Area, such as a keynote event organized in collaboration with the International Art Market Studies Association (TIAMSA), a book presentation complemented by a talk about the AWAY initiative, as well as the lecture Artistic Practices and Transient States by Ruben Arevshatyan in the frame of the Focus: Armenia project.

 

Program subject to change.

Thursday, 27 September 2018

2:00-3:00 pm | Artistic Practices and Transient States
In the frame of Focus: Armenia

Lecture by Ruben Arevshatyan, Artist, Art Critic, Independent Curator, President of AICA-Armenia, Teacher at the Contemporary Art Institute, Yerevan

“Transient state” perhaps has been one of the most prevalent definitions used in the post-Soviet independent nations for describing the processes in social, political, economic and, of course, cultural developments. Looking back today on an almost 30-year-period of the drastic transformations happening in those countries, it is possible to observe that despite quite different social and political outcomes the “state of transition” ironically or inevitably remains as a major existential condition for those societies.
Armenia has just passed through the Velvet Revolution and is now experiencing another transient state: a transitional government, intensive post-revolutionary processes typical for the transitional period, and many more… What could be the outcome of those transitions; what would the realization of various, and sometimes quite ambiguous, collective hopes look like?
The contemporary art situation in Armenia has been evolving in parallel with the revolutionary transitions in the country since the mid-1980s. The interconnection with those transitions, varying from critical reflections and direct interactions with political and social processes to distant musings over the various aspects of those changes, offers a possibility of tracing different patterns of logic and varied readings of a turbulent period that the country and the world has lived through in the last 30 years.

 

3:30-4:30 pm | „Was kann eine Residency?“
Book Presentation and Talk

Katrin HornekArtist, Vienna
Holger JagersbergerHead of Atelierhaus Salzamt, Linz
Christiane KadaStyria, Department for Cultural Affairs – Awards and Scholarships
Olga OkunevDeputy Head of Department II/1Visual Arts, Architecture, Design, Fashion, Photography and Media Arts, Federal Chancellery of Austria
Peter J. SchneemannArt Historian, Author, University Bern
Welcome and Introduction: Alexandra Grausam, Project Manager and Curator AWAY – a project around residencies
Moderator: eSeL (Lorenz Seidler)

For two years, „AWAY – a project around residencies has put the spotlight on the renowned international residency program of the Federal Chancellery of Austria. The publication, which is first presented in the context of viennacontemporary, documents the history of the program, using, amongst others, the exhibition presented in 2016 as an example, and deals with current issues. Together with invited guests, the current goals of the studio programs are discussed from different perspectives. Talk in German.

 

5:30-7:00 pm | Round table „The Art Market and the Internet“
2018 Conference of The International Art Market Studies Association

Kristina Kulakova, Head of Digital and PR at viennacontemporary
Sophie Neuendorf, Vice President – Strategic Partnerships, artnet
Anna Maja Spies, Global Lead of Cultural Partnerships, Artsy
Prof. Dr. Olav Velthuis, University of Amsterdam
Moderator: Dr. Johannes Nathan, Director Nathan Fine Art, Chair of the Int’l Art Market Studies Association

The Internet has a profound effect on the art market. With its databases, online sales, abundant information on commercial galleries, auction houses, and so much else, the world wide web appears to offer everything needed to stay informed or to engage in transactions. And yet, many of the art market’s ‘old fashioned’ practices, such as hand-shake deals or evening auctions, keep their ground, while real-life platforms such as art fairs actually expand and multiply. This roundtable will address the complex relations between the art market and the Internet – a fascinating and still relatively unexplored topic.

 

Friday, 28 September 2018

12:30-1:30 pm | Media Talks | EIKON
Stillleben. Ein Genre erfindet sich neu?

Manuel Gorkiewicz, Artist, Vienna
Bettina Leidl, Director of KUNST HAUS WIEN
Moderator: Nela EggenbergerEditor-in-Chief of EIKON

Still life, a classic of photography, which for a long time was associated with a small niche of contemporary art, has lately been taken up again and reinterpreted by numerous photographers. Can you, however, speak of an actual re-invention of the genre? If yes, why is it happening now? EIKON will take up these and further questions in an expert discussion on the occasion of the current focus of the September issue. Talk in German.

 

2:00-3:00 pm | Collectors Talks
Artload “A-live” Interview with John Evans, Stuart Evans

Stuart and John Evans, father and son, collect contemporary art and help others with their collections. Their enthusiasm is based on a passion for living with art.
Stuart, from 1981 to 2008 a partner at international law firm Simmons & Simmons, is responsible for building the firm’s Contemporary Art Collection which includes early works by Tracey Emin, Angus Fairhurst, Damien Hirst, Gary Hume, Michael Landy, Sarah Lucas, Chris Ofili, Wolfgang Tillmans, Mark Wallinger, and Gillian Wearing.
For the last ten years John and Stuart have worked together building a collection of works by artists from Latin America. John took the lead in establishing a venture called “BALON” to introduce Latin American artists to new audiences.

 

3:30-4:30 pm | TalksWHERE ARE WE NOW?
Taking the pulse of viennacontemporary’s host city

Herwig Kempinger, President of Secession, Vienna
Maria Inez Plaza, Gallerist, Exile Gallery, Berlin
Laura Windhager, Founder and Director of GIANNI MANHATTAN, Vienna

Art in Vienna is changing rapidly: A new generation of players is emerging alongside the city’s art establishment. This panel discusses the many developing conditions surrounding Vienna’s artists, galleries, art market, and institutions – as well as how the local scene can respond to greater political developments in Austria.

 

5:00-6:00 pm | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?

Chloe Piene, Artist, USA/Netherlands
Chloe Stead, Art Critic, Writer, Berlin
Sophie TappeinerGallerist, Sophie Tappeiner, Vienna

Details to be announced.

 

Saturday, 29 September 2018

12:30-1:30 pm | Media Talks Collectors Agenda
»It’s pretty good work«

Vincenzo Della CorteGallerist, Vin Vin, Vienna
Maruša Sagadin
Artist, Vienna
Chloe Stead, Art Critic, Writer, Berlin
Moderator: Alexandra-Maria TothEditor of Art Platform Collectors Agenda, Vienna

To the degree that the contemporary art world impresses by record sales and attaches monetary criteria to valuating art, the orienting and contextualizing role of art criticism seems to be falling short of reaching a critical mass among the art public any more. Once useful as a provider of new criteria of judgement and navigation help in the face of a steady flow of constantly new artistic practice, the influence of art criticism is experiencing a decline. What can put art criticism back on the agenda of the art scene and let it regain its original role? And what else could art criticism involve? With populism gaining ground, may it for instance play a bigger role to foster a greater sensitivity and appreciation towards artistic practice and critical thinking as such among a wider public, beyond the established circles of the art scene?

 

2:00-3:00 pm | Collectors Talks
Artload “A-live” Interview with Luiz Augusto Teixeira de Freitas

 

3:30-4:30 pm | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Global affairs: the shifting weights of center and periphery

Marina Fokidis, Independent Curator, Founding Director and Editor-in-Chief of South as a State of Mind, Athens
Hicham Khalidi, Associate Curator at Lafayette Anticipation in Paris, Director at the Jan van Eyck Academy, Maastricht, Main Curator at Rotterdam Triennial
Irena PopiashviliDirector of Kunsthalle Tbilisi

This panel examines the role of art made and exhibited under non-Eurocentric conditions, not just the Global South but also post-communist zones (the former second world), and the blurring lines between the traditional centers and peripheries. Can art diverging from western/northern notions of art history and aesthetics – as well as models and structures of exhibition, distribution, institutional infrastructure and market concerns – show us new ways of addressing pertinent global topics?

 

5:00-6:00 pm | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Art’s responsibility in times of political/societal change

James English LearyArtist, New York
Mohammad SalemyArt Critic, Artist, Curator, Berlin
Nicolaus SchafhausenDirector of Kunsthalle Wien

In response to populism and a myriad of other political upheavals in recent years, social practice and artist-activism have dramatically grown in visibility in the past half-decade. This talk explores the problems and potentials inherent in these practices, as well as those within art’s own structures and mechanisms. Can, or should, the art world effect change in the real world, and if so, how?

 

Sunday, 30 September 2018

12:30-1:30 pm | Media Talks PARNASS
Collecting Young Art

Silvie Aigner, Editor-in-Chief of the Austrian art magazine PARNASS
Victoria Dejaco, Curator ZONE1, Writer, Curator, Stefan Stolitzka Collection

Vienna´s contemporary art scene is thriving thanks to its forward-thinking institutions and numerous galleries which represent Austrian and international artists. In the recent years a new generation has burst onto the city’s art scene, carrying the torch of Viennese art with young, innovative energy, setting a spotlight on local talents and artists from abroad. The conversation will focus on Vienna´s art scene and the conditions which are essential to form a supportive ecosystem for young artists, collectors and galleries by taking Victoria Dejaco´s selection of eight artists for the 2018 edition of ZONE1 as an example.
Talk in German.

 

2:00-3:00 pm | Collectors Talks
Artload “A-live” Interview with Bernardo Faria

 

3:30-4:30 pm | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Patronage 2.0

Michael Xufu HuangCollector, Co-Founder, M WOODS Museum, Beijing
Stefan SimchowitzCollector, Curator, Art Advisor, Los Angeles (via Skype)

Historical patronage reflected the cultural ideologies, wealth, and power of a few patrons, while the twentieth century’s artistic evolutions and market developments recast the patron’s role. Considering the twenty-first century’s complexities, is patronage still the often unequal social negotiation it long was? This panel discusses contemporary patronage through current positions and projects, and asks: what could patronage look like in years to come?

 

5:00-6:00 pm | TalksWHERE ARE WE NOW?
Art criticism in the age of fake news

Filipa Ramos, Editorin-Chief of artagenda, New York/London
Kolja Reichert, Art Critic, Berlin
Nina Schedlmayer, Independent Art Critic, Vienna

Taking many forms and in perpetual “crisis,” where does art criticism currently stand within the greater art field? This panel examines how criticism might gain more relevance at a time in which talk of all kinds has become cheap, so to speak. Potentials may lie in new publishing platforms, social media, and innovative approaches to critique – and these vary from country to country. Ethics will be considered: what is covered, and why? Is today’s comparably tame criticism in danger of becoming mere PR? Most of all, how can we imagine the art publications of the future?

viennacontemporary

Talks

Talks Programm
Talks Area
| Stand C32

 

Talks: WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Kuratorin: Kimberly Bradley
28.–30. September, 15:30 Uhr, 17:00 Uhr

Where are we now ist eine Reihe von Konversationen und Diskussionen, die über die Funktionsfähigkeit derzeitiger Kunstwelt-Modelle nachdenkt und sie untersucht, sowie mögliche Resultate eines Wandels vorhersagen will. Als Teil von viennacontemporarys täglichem Programm hat die Kunstkritikerin und Journalistin Kimberly Bradley eine Reihe von Diskussionen zusammengestellt, die sich aus der Perspektive von KünstlerInnen, internationalen SammlerInnen, MuseumsdirektorInnen, HändlerInnen, KunstkritikerInnen und KuratorInnen mit verschiedenen Aspekten des sich im Wandel befindlichen Kunstmarktes befassen – in Wien und weit darüber hinaus.

Die in Berlin und Wien lebende Amerikanerin Kimberly Bradley vereint die Welten des kulturjournalistischen Mainstreams mit jener der Kunstkritik. Die Arbeiten der Kuratorin entstammen dem Journalismus, den sie auch heute aktiv betreibt. Bradley schreibt regemäßig Beiträge für The New York Times, vordergründig über Themen der Kunstwelt und KünstlerInnen, aber auch über das Tagesgeschehen. Sie ist außerdem als Wien-Korrespondentin des Londoner Monocle Magazins tätig, wo sie über Allgemeinthemen schreibt und oftmals als Kunstkritikerin im Webradio von Monocle auftritt. Ihre Kritiken und kunstbezogenen Stellungnahmen erscheinen in Publikationen wie Art-Agenda, ArtReview, Frieze und Mousse.
Bradley lektoriert regelmäßig Kataloge und Mongrafien für große Museen und Institutionen im deutschsprachigen Raum. Vier Jahre lang war sie als Lektorin für das Texte zur Kunst Magazin tätig und lektoriert seit 1999 die englischsprachigen Publikationen des süddeutschen Residency-Programms Akademie Schloss Solitude. Seit 2013 ist Bradley Vortragende an der Berlin-Niederlassung der New York University, wo sie über zeitgenössische Kunstpraktiken und -theorie lehrt. 2016 und 2017 unterrichtete sie einen intensiven Kunst-Schreibkurs an der internationalen Sommerakademie für Bildende Kunst Salzburg.

 

Collectors Talks
Kuratorin: Vivian Gandelsman
28.–30. September, 14:00 Uhr

Die „A-live” Interview-Serie der Plattform Artload gewährt im Rahmen der viennacontemporary exklusive Einblicke in die Herausforderungen und Strategien im Aufbau einer bedeutsamen Kunstsammlung, zeigt individuelle Ansätze von Sammlungen auf und erwägt Möglichkeiten, private Kunstsammlungen zum Dienste der Gesellschaft einzusetzen. Durch Interviews mit den einflussreichsten SammlerInnen des internationalen Kunstkreises bietet Artload sowohl lokale als auch globale kritische Perspektiven auf zeitgenössische Kunst.

Vivian Gandelsman ist sowohl wissenschaftlich als auch als Beraterin im Bereich der zeitgenössischen Kunst tätig. Sie lebt in São Paulo und verfügt über mehr als zehn Jahre Erfahrung in der internationalen Kunstszene mit engen Kontakten zu Galerien, Messen und Biennalen. Seit 2014 zeichnet Gandelsman unermüdlich den primären Kunstmarkt auf und hat bereits über 200 Videointerviews mit KünstlerInnen, KuratorInnen, GalleristInnen, SammlerInnen und anderen Persönlichkeiten der Kunstwelt geführt. Die eingehenden Gespräche offenbaren ihr umfangreiches Wissen und Engagement in der heimischen und internationale Kunstszene und bescherten ihr Aufträge als Kunstberaterin an Messen und von Personen, die sich für die Produktion zeitgenössischer Kunst interessieren. Vielmehr als um private oder berufliche Anerkennung ging es Gandelman bei ihren Recherchen für Artload darum, das Andenken an die Gegenwart zu bewahren und sensible wie entscheidende Ereignisse zu teilen, die hinter den Kulissen der Kunstwelt geschehen.

 

Media Talks
28.–30. September, 12:30 Uhr

Bereits zum dritten Mal bietet viennacontemporary einer beeindruckenden Bandbreite von Medien, wie EIKON, Collectors Agenda, PARNASS, die ihre Sicht auf die zeitgenössische Kunstwelt verlautbaren, eine Bühne.

 

Am Donnerstag, dem 27. September, wird viennacontemporary auch die Spezialveranstaltungen in der Talks Area beherbergen, die einen Keynote Event in Zusammenarbeit mit der International Art Market Studies Association (TIAMSA), eine Buchpräsentation und einen Vortrag über das AWAY Projekt, sowie den Vortrag Artistic Practices and Transient States von Ruben Arevshatyan im Rahmen des Focus: Armenia Projektes beinhalten.

 

Programmänderungen vorbehalten.

Donnerstag, 27. September 2018

14:00-15:00 Uhr | Artistic Practices and Transient States
Im Rahmen von Focus: Armenia

Ein Vortrag von Ruben ArevshatyanKünstler, Kunstkritiker, unabhängiger Kurator, Vorsitzender von AICA-Armenia, Lehrer am Contemporary Art Institute, Jerewan

“Übergangszustand” ist die vorherrschende Bezeichnung, die in unabhängigen postsowjetischen Nationen für die sozialen, politischen, wirtschaftlichen und natürlich kulturellen Entwicklungen verwendet wird. Wenn wir heute an die 30-jährige Zeitspanne dieser drastischen Veränderungen in den Ländern zurückdenken, können wir beobachten, dass trotz unterschiedlicher sozialer und politischer Resultate der «Übergangsstatus» ironischerweise oder unweigerlich die hauptsächliche Existenzform dieser Gesellschaften bleibt.
Armenien ist gerade durch die samtene Revolution gegangen und erfährt jetzt einen Übergangszustand: eine Übergangsregierung, intensive postrevolutionäre Prozesse, die typsich für Übergangssituationen sind, etc… Was könnten die Ergebnisse dieser Übergänge sein? Wie sähe die Verwirklichung der verschiedenen und mehrdeutigen kollektiven Hoffnungen an diese Revolution aus? Die Situation der zeitgenössischen Kunst in Armenien hat sich gleichzeitig mit den revolutionären Übergängen des Landes seit Mitte der 80-Jahren entwickelt. Die Verbindung mit diesen Übergängen, die von kritischen Reflexionen und direkten Interaktionen mit politischen und sozialen Prozessen bis zu entrückten Träumereien über die verschiedenen Aspekte des Wandels reicht, bietet eine Möglichkeit, die verschiedenenLogikmuster und Interpretationenen einer turbulenten Periode nachzuverfolgen, die das Land und die Welt in den letzten 30 Jahren durchgemacht hat.

 

15:30-16:30 Uhr | „Was kann eine Residency?“
Buchpräsentation und Talk

Katrin HornekKünstlerin, Wien
Holger JagersbergerLeiter des Atelierhauses Salzamt, Linz
Christiane KadaLand Steiermark, Abteilung Kultur – Preise und Stipendien
Olga OkunevBundeskanzleramt Österreich Sektion II Kunst und Kultur, Abteilung II/1, Bildende Kunst, Architektur, Design, Mode, Foto- und Medienkunst
Peter J. SchneemannKunsthistoriker und Autor, Universität Bern
Begrüßung und Einführung: Alexandra Grausam, Projektleiterin und Kuratorin AWAY – a project around residencies
Moderation: eSeL (Lorenz Seidler)

Seit zwei Jahren beleuchtet „AWAY – a project around residencies“ das renommierte Auslandsatelier-Programm des Bundeskanzleramts Österreich (BKA). Die nun im Rahmen der viennacontemporary erstmals präsentierte Publikation dokumentiert die Geschichte des Programms u.a. anhand der 2016 gezeigten Ausstellung und greift darüber hinaus wesentliche Fragestellungen zu diesem Thema auf. Gemeinsam mit den geladenen Gästen werden aktuelle Zielsetzungen von Atelier-Programmen aus unterschiedlichen Perspektiven diskutiert. Gespräch auf Deutsch.

 

17:30-19:00 Uhr | Rundtisch „The Art Market and the Internet“
2018 Conference of The International Art Market Studies Association

Kristina Kulakova, Leiterin Digitales und PR, viennacontemporary
Sophie Neuendorf, Vizepräsidentin – Strategische Partnerschaften, artnet
Anna Maja Spies, Global Lead of Cultural Partnerships, Artsy
Prof. Dr. Olav Velthuis, Universität Amsterdam
Moderation: Dr. Johannes Nathan, Direktor von Nathan Fine Art, Vorstand der Int’l Art Market Studies Association

Das Internet hat großen Einfluss auf den Kunstmarkt. Mit seinen Datenbanken, Online-Verkäufen, Informationen über kommerzielle Galerien, Aktionshäuser und vielem mehr, scheint das „World Wide Web“ alles zu bieten, um informiert zu bleiben und an Transaktionen teilzunehmen. Und doch bleiben viele „altmodische“ Gebräuche des Kunsthandels, wie Handschlag-Vereinbarungen und Abendauktionen bestehen, während reale Plattformen wie Kunstmessen sogar immer weiter an Popularität gewinnen. Dieser Roundtable beleuchtet die komplexe Beziehung zwischen dem Kunstmarkt und dem Internet – ein faszinierendes, noch weitgehend unerforschtes Thema.

 

Freitag, 28. September 2018

12:30-13:30 Uhr | Media Talks | EIKON
Stillleben. Ein Genre erfindet sich neu?

Manuel Gorkiewicz, Künstler, Wien
Bettina Leidl, Direktorin des KUNST HAUS WIEN
Moderation: Nela EggenbergerChefredakteurin von EIKON

Das Stillleben, ein Klassiker der Fotografie, der lange Zeit in einer Nische der zeitgenössischen Kunst verortet war, wird in jüngster Zeit von zahlreichen KünstlerInnen wieder aufgegriffen und neu interpretiert. Lässt sich in diesem Zusammenhang aber auch von einer tatsächlichen Aktualisierung des Genres sprechen? Und wenn ja, warum geschieht dies gerade heute? Diesen und weiteren Fragen möchte EIKON anlässlich des aktuellen Schwerpunkts der Septemberausgabe in einem ExpertInnen-Gespräch nachgehen. Gespräch auf Deutsch.

 

14:00-15:00 Uhr | Collectors Talks
Artload „A-live“ Interview mit John Evans, Stuart Evans

Stuart und John Evans, Vater und Sohn, sammeln zeitgenössische Kunst und unterstützen darüber hinaus auch Andere bei deren Kunstsammlungen. Ihr Enthusiasmus wurzelt in ihrer Leidenschaft, dem Leben mit der Kunst.
Stuart, der von 1981 bis 2008 Partner in der internationalen Anwaltskanzlei Simmons & Simmons war, ist maßgeblich für die Kunstsammlung seiner Firma verantwortlich. In der Sammlung zeitgenössischer Kunst befinden sich u.a. frühe Arbeiten von Tracey Emin, Angus Fairhurst, Damien Hirst, Gary Hume, Michael Landy, Sarah Lucas, Chris Ofili, Wolfgang Tillmans, Mark Wallinger und Gillian Wearing.
John und Stuart bauten in den letzten zehn Jahre eine gemeinsame Sammlung auf, in der die Arbeiten lateinamerikanischer KünstlerInnen vereint sind. Um lateinamerikanische Kunst einem neuen Publikum näher zu bringen, hat John Evans das Projekt „BALON“ gegründet.

 

15:30-16:30 Uhr | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Taking the pulse of viennacontemporary’s host city

Herwig KempingerPräsident der Secession, Wien
Maria Inez PlazaGaleristin, Exile Gallery, Berlin
Laura Windhager, Gründerin und Direktorin von GIANNI MANHATTAN, Wien

Kunst in Wien ist im raschen Wandel begriffen: neben dem klassischen Kunstbetrieb wächst eine neue Generation von Akteuren heran. Dieses Panel behandelt die vielen Entwicklungsbedingungen um Wiens KünstlerInnen, Galerien, Kunstmärkte und Institutionen – und fragt sich, wie die lokale Szene auf die grundlegenden politischen Entwicklungen in Österreich reagieren kann.

 

17:00-18:00 Uhr | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?

Chloe Piene, Künstlerin, USA/Netherlands
Chloe Stead, Kunstkritikerin, Schriftstellerin, Berlin
Sophie TappeinerGaleristin, Sophie Tappeiner, Wien

Details werden bekanntgegeben.

 

Samstag, 29. September 2018

12:30-1:30 Uhr | Media Talks Collectors Agenda
»It’s pretty good work«

Vincenzo Della Corte, Galerist, Vin Vin, Wien
Maruša Sagadin
, Künstlerin, Wien
Chloe Stead, Kunstkritikerin, Schriftstellerin, Berlin
Moderation: Alexandra-Maria Toth, Redakteurin Art Platform Collectors Agenda, Wien

Während die zeitgenössischen Kunstwelt mit Rekordverkäufen beeindruckt und der Wert von Kunst an währungstechnische Kriterien geknüpft wird, scheint die orientierungsgebende und kontextualisierende Rolle von Kunstkritik nicht mehr die kritische Masse des Kunstpublikums erreichen zu können. Der Einfluss von Kunstkritik, einst nützlich als Anbieter neuer Bewertungskriterien und Navigationshilfe angesichts eines anhaltenden Stromes neuer künstlerischer Praxen, nimmt ab. Wie kann die Kunstkritik ihre alte Rolle zurückgewinnen und wieder zu einem fixen Bestandteil der Kunstszene werden? Und was könnte Kunstkritik noch umfassen? In Zeiten, in denen Populismus am Vormarsch ist, könnte sie vielleicht eine größere Rolle in der Sensibilisierung und Förderung der Wertschätzung künstlerischer Arbeit und kritischem Denken einnehmen für ein breiteres Publikum, abseits des bestehenden Kunstkreises?

 

14:00-15:00 Uhr | Collectors Talks
Artload „A-live“ Interview mit Luiz Augusto Teixeira de Freitas

 

15:30-16:30 Uhr | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Global affairs: the shifting weights of center and periphery

Marina Fokidis, Unabhängige Kuratorin, Gründungsdirektorin und Chefredakteurin von South as a State of Mind, Athens
Hicham Khalidi, Teilhabender Kurator bei Lafayette Anticipation in Paris, Direktor des Jan van Eyck Academy, Maastricht, Hauptkurator der Rotterdam Trienniale
Irena PopiashviliDirektorin der Kunsthalle Tbilisi

Dieses Panel untersucht die Rolle von Kunst, die unter nicht-eurozentrischen Bedingungen geschaffen und ausgestellt wird – damit ist nicht nur der globale Süden gemeint, sondern auch die postsowjetischen Zonen (die einstige „zweite Welt”) und die verschwommenen Grenzen zwischen den traditionellen Zentren und den Peripherien. Kann uns Kunst, die von westlichen und nördlichen Auffassungen von Kunstgeschichte und Ästhetik abweicht – und ebenso von bekannten Modellen und Strukturen von Ausstellungen, Vertrieb, institutioneller Infrastruktur und Marktanliegen – neue Wege aufzeigen, relevante globale Themen zu behandeln?

 

17:00-18:00 Uhr | Talks | WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Art’s responsibility in times of political/societal change

James English LearyKünstler, New York
Mohammad Salemy, Kunstkritiker, Künstler, Kurator, Berlin
Nicolaus Schafhausen, Direktor der Kunsthalle Wien

Angesichts des Populismus und der Unzahl von anderen politischen Umbrüchen der letzten Jahre haben soziale Praktiken und KünstlerInnen-Aktivismus innerhalb des letzten halben Jahrzehnts enorm an Sichtbarkeit gewonnen. Diese Diskussion erforscht die Probleme und Potentiale innerhalb dieser Praktiken sowie innerhalb der Kunststrukturen und -mechanismen. Kann – oder sollte – Kunst Wandel in der echten Welt herbeiführen? Und wenn ja, wie?

 

Sonntag, 30. September 2018

12:30-13:30 Uhr | Media Talks PARNASS
Collecting Young Art

Silvie Aigner, Chefredakteurin des österreichischen Kunstmagazins PARNASS
Victoria Dejaco, Kuratorin ZONE1, Schriftstellerin, Kuratorin der Stefan Stolitzka Collection

Dank fortschrittlich denkender Institutionen und zahlreicher Galerien, die österreichische und internationale KünstlerInnen vertreten, boomt Wiens zeitgenössische Kunstszene. In den letzten Jahren hat eine neue Generation die lokale Kunstszene im Sturm erobert, die Wiener Kunst mit junger, innovativer Energie vorantreibt und sowohl lokale Talente als auch KünstlerInnen aus dem Ausland ins Zentrum der Aufmerksamkeit rückt. Anhand der von Victoria Dejaco ausgewählten acht KünstlerInnen der ZONE1 erläutert diese Konversation Wiens Kunstszene und die Konditionen, die für die Bildung eines unterstützenden Ökosystems für junge KünstlerInnen, SammlerInnen und Galerien essentiell sind. Gespräch auf Deutsch.

 

14:00-15:00 Uhr | Collectors Talks
Artload „A-live“ Interview mit Bernardo Faria

 

15:30-16:30 Uhr | Talks | WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Patronage 2.0

Michael Xufu HuangSammler, Mitbegründer, M WOODS Museum, Peking
Stefan SimchowitzSammler, Kurator, Kunstberater, Los Angeles (via Skype)

Während Patronage historisch für die kulturelle ideologische Vorherrschaft, den Reichtum und die Macht einiger weniger Mäzenen stand, schufen die künstlerische Evolution und Markentwicklungen des 20ten Jahrhunderts dem Patron eine neue Rolle. Wenn man die Komplexitäten des einundzwanzigsten Jahrhunderts in Betracht zieht, ist Mäzenatentum immer noch die meist ungleiche soziale Verhandlung, die es so lange war? Dieses Panel diskutiert über zeitgenössische Patronage durch die Linse aktueller Positionen und Projekte und fragt sich: Wie könnte das Patronat der kommenden Jahre aussehen?

 

17:00-18:00 Uhr | Talks WHERE ARE WE NOW?
Art criticism in the age of fake news

Filipa Ramos, Chefredakteurin von art-agenda, New York/London
Kolja Reichert, Kunstkritiker, Berlin
Nina Schedlmayer, Freie Kunstkritikerin, Wien

In ihren vielen unterschiedlichen Formen und in einer andauernden “Krise” befindlich – wo steht die Kunstkritik augenblicklich im größeren Kontext der Kunst? Dieses Panel untersucht, wie Kunstkritik an Relevanz gewinnen könnte in einer Zeit, in der Worte wenig zählen. Potentiale könnten in neuen Plattformen, sozialen Medien und innovative Ansätze der Kunstkritik liegen – und diese sind von Land zu Land unterschiedlich. Auch Ethik spielt eine Rolle: über was wird berichtet und warum? Läuft die vergleichsweise zahme Kunstkritik von heute Gefahr, zu schnöder PR zu verkommen? Und vor allem, wie stellen wir uns Kunstpublikationen der Zukunft vor?