viennacontemporary

Nadikhuno muzeumos / Invisible Museum

Nadikhuno muzeumos / Invisible Museum is a project organized by tranzit.sk and initiated by the artist Oto Hudec. It features his vision of a Roma culture museum as well as the works of Robert Gabris, Daniela Krajčová, Emília Rigová, and Marcela Hadová together with Marka romňakero gendalos, which reflect on Roma history and cultural representation and problematize established stereotypes. In a condensed form, these works strive to broaden the view of Roma history, culture and contemporary art.

Although the idea of a Roma culture museum took shape as a reaction to the social-political conditions and institutional system under which Romaare living in Slovakia today, its relevance is more far-reaching. Such a museum could play an important role in the cultural unification and emancipation of Roma by presenting their history, traditions, and values. It could instil pride in having something valuable to give to the majority society, while encouraging them to recognize Roma culture as equal and beneficial. If self-definition is a condition of emancipation, the visibility of Roma culture and contemporary art, the inhabiting of the institutional system on a par with the majority culture and art are also important factors. This is not possible without a sustained dialogue between Roma and non-Roma, grass-roots organisations and state, local, regional, and transnational initiatives.

As exemplified by Oto Hudec’s installation in the exhibition, his view of a Roma culture museum is based on dialogic principles. It is an open vision for an alternative museum that would offer more than the traditional ethnographic view and would instead focus on contemporary culture of Roma, their current social and political situation as well as their history. It is based on field research, discussions with Roma professionals, cultural workers, and creative workshops with young people from Eastern Slovakia.

In her video and photographs, Emília Rigová reflects on the stereotyping of Roma women. She stylizes herself in the romanticizing ideal of a traditional Roma woman with the aim to deconstruct it and appears as a black Madonna in order to reveal the arbitrariness of skin colour categorization.

The tattooed bodies of Robert Gabris’s copper engravings speak to a society that instead of solving social problems relegates unwanted people to spaces of confinement. The artist also presents two complementary drawings: one which uses handwritten text as pictorial language in order to talk-out traumas created by participating in a compassionless education system; the other celebrates the joy of free movement and gathering in which flies symbolize the concept of Roma togetherness.

Painter Marcela Hadová manages Marka romňakero gendalosthe Roma women’s club in the village of Rankovce (Eastern Slovakia), where women create murals and paintings.The aim of the club is to establish a link among the women from the Roma community and to encourage them to become self-sufficient. The exhibition presents a photo documentation of one of their mural paintings created in the public space.

Another layer of the exhibition is comprised of the Karavan community project, which has been implemented by Daniela Krajčová and Oto Hudec since 2014. The project’s format is a mobile workshop in which the artists visit marginalized communities in various regions of Slovakia and carry out multi-disciplinary activities for children and young people. Through creative practice they strive to stimulate mutual communication and interaction, collective creativity and the presentation of their own stories and experience as a vehicle of empowerment.

Invisible Museum is an uncompleted plan, a collage of unfinished reflections to be offered for further reworking and discussion. In order to achieve real change, the entiresocial system mustbe changed. What can be achieved on the artistic and cultural levelsis to strengthen the belief that this change will happen.

 

A project organized by tranzit.sk in collaboration with ERSTE Foundation for the occasion of viennacontemporary 2018.

The first version of this exhibition was presented at tranzit.sk in Bratislava between November 2017 – January 2018 as part of the Collecting, Curating and Presenting Roma Culture project implemented in cooperation with the Goethe Institut Bratislava and the Spolka Collective.

We thank gallery Futura, tranzit.at, the Gandy Gallery, the International Visegrad Fund, Združenie PRE LEPŠÍ ŽIVOT Kecerovce – Rankovce, the Museum of Roma Culture in Slovakia in Martin, the Documentary and Information Centre of the Romani Culture in Prešov, and the Museum of Romani Culture in Brno for their collaboration and help. We also thank all those who participated in the project with their interviews and help.

 

ERSTE Foundation is main partner of tranzit.

  


Oto Hudec, Nadikhuno muzeumos / Invisible Museum
2017, Mixed Media, variable dimensions, courtesy of tranzit.sk, Adam Šakový


Oto Hudec & Daniela Krajčová, Projekt Karavan
2014–2018, mixed media, variable dimensions, courtesy of tranzit.sk, Adam Šakový


Robert Gabris, If u are scared, don’t enter the forest!
2017, drawing, 100 x 100 cm, courtesy of Robert Gabris


Emília Rigová, A Self-Portrait
2017, Photography, 130 x 100 cm, courtesy of Emília Rigová, Robert Gabris


Marcela Hadová together with the Marka romňakero gendalos, Flowers
2015, painting, variable dimensions, courtesy of tranzit.sk, Sándor Bartha

viennacontemporary

Nadikhuno muzeumos / Das unsichtbare Museum 2018

Kuratoren: Judit Angel, Oto Hudec
A02 / B01

Im Mittelpunkt des von tranzit.sk organisierten und vom Künstler Oto Hudec initiierten Projekts Nadikhuno muzeumos / Das unsichtbare Museum stehen Hudecs Vision eines Museums der Kultur der Roma sowie Arbeiten von Robert Gabris, Daniela Krajčová, Emília Rigová und Marcela Hadová gemeinsam mit Marka romňakero gendalos, die sich mit der Geschichte der Roma, ihrer kulturellen Repräsentation und der Problematik gängiger Stereotype auseinandersetzen. In verdichteter Form zielen diese Werke darauf ab, den Blick auf die Geschichte, Kultur und zeitgenössische Kunst der Roma zu erweitern.

Auch wenn die Idee, ein Museum der Kultur der Roma zu schaffen, als Reaktion auf das institutionelle System und die gesellschaftspolitischen Bedingungen, unter denen die Roma heute in der Slowakei leben, entstand, ist seine Relevanz weitreichender. Ein solches Museum könnte bei der kulturellen Vereinigung und Emanzipation der Roma durch die Präsentation ihrer Geschichte, Traditionen und Werte eine wichtige Rolle spielen. Es würde die Roma mit Stolz erfüllen, der Mehrheitsgesellschaft etwas von Wert zu geben, und diese darin zu bestärken, die Kultur der Roma als gleichwertig und lohnend anzuerkennen. Wenn Selbstverständnis eine Voraussetzung für Emanzipation ist, so sind auch die Sichtbarkeit der Kultur und zeitgenössischen Kunst der Roma innerhalb des institutionellen Systems und ihre Gleichwertigkeit mit der Mehrheitskultur und -kunst ebenso wichtige Faktoren. Das ist ohne einen kontinuierlichen Dialog zwischen Roma und Nicht-Roma, Basisorganisationen und staatlichen, lokalen, regionalen und transnationalen Initiativen nicht möglich.

Am Beispiel der in der Ausstellung gezeigten Installation von Oto Hudec wird offenkundig, dass seine Auffassung eines Museums der Kultur der Roma auf dialogischen Grundsätzen basiert. Es ist dies eine offene Vision für ein alternatives Museum, das mehr als die herkömmliche ethnografische Sicht anzubieten hätteund den Schwerpunkt stattdessen auf die zeitgenössische Kultur der Roma, ihre gegenwärtige soziale und politische Situation sowie ihre Geschichte legen würde. Diese Vision basiert auf Feldforschung, Diskussionen mit Roma-Expertenund Kulturschaffenden sowie kreativen Workshops mit jungen Menschen aus der Ostslowakei.

In ihren Video- und Fotoarbeiten setzt sich Emília Rigová mit stereotypen Darstellungen von Roma-Frauen auseinander. Sie stilisiert sich selbst zum romantisierenden Ideal einer traditionellen Romni, mit dem Ziel dieses Ideal zu dekonstruieren, und präsentiert sich als schwarze Madonna, um die Willkür der Kategorisierung aufgrund der eigenen Hautfarbe aufzuzeigen.

Die tätowierten Körper von Robert Gabris’ Kupferstichen richten sich an eine Gesellschaft, die, anstatt soziale Probleme zu lösen, unerwünschte Personen wegsperrt. Der Künstler präsentiert außerdem zwei komplementäre Zeichnungen: Während sich die eine in ihrer Bildsprache eines handschriftlichen Textes bedient, um die durch die Teilhabe an einem gleichgültigen Bildungssystem entstandenen Traumata zu thematisieren, zelebriert die andere die Freude an der Bewegung und Begegnung, wobei die Fliegen das Zusammengehörigkeitsgefühl der Roma symbolisieren.

Die Malerin Marcela Hadová leitet Marka romňakero gendaloseinen Roma-Frauenverein im Dorf Rankovce (Ostslowakei). Hier entstehen von Frauen geschaffene Wandmalereien und Bilder. Ziel des Vereins ist es, die Frauen der Roma-Gemeinschaft miteinander zu vernetzen und sie zur Eigenständigkeit zu ermutigen. Die Ausstellung präsentiert eine Fotodokumentation einer ihrer im öffentlichen Raum entstandenen Wandmalereien.

Eine weitere Ebene der Ausstellung bildet das seit 2014 von Daniela Krajčová und Oto Hudec umgesetzte Gemeinschaftsprojekt Karavan. Formal entspricht das Projekt einem mobilen Workshop, im Zuge dessen die Künstler marginalisierte Gemeinschaften in verschiedenen Regionen der Slowakei besuchen und multidisziplinäre Aktivitäten für Kinder und junge Menschen organisieren. Durch kreatives Schaffen sollen die gegenseitige Verständigung und Auseinandersetzung, die gemeinsame Kreativität und die Präsentation ihrer eigenen Geschichten und Erfahrungen zur Stärkung ihrer Position gefördert werden.

Das unsichtbare Museum ist ein unvollendetes Projekt, eine Collage unbeendeter Reflexionen, die überarbeitet und weiter diskutiert werden wollen. Um einen echten Wandel zu bewirken, bedarf es einer Veränderung des gesellschaftlichen Systems. Was auf künstlerischer und kultureller Ebene erreicht werden kann, ist, den Glauben daran zu stärken, dass dieser Wandel stattfinden wird.

 

Ein von tranzit.sk organisiertes Projekt in Kooperation mit der ERSTE Stiftung anlässlich der viennacontemporary 2018.

Die erste Ausgabe dieser Ausstellung wurde im Rahmen des Projekts Collecting, Curating and Presenting Roma Culture von November 2017 bis Jänner 2018 bei tranzit.sk in Bratislava in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Goethe-Institut Bratislava und dem Kollektiv Spolka präsentiert.

Wir danken der Galerie Futura, tranzit.at, der Gandy Galerie, dem Internationalen Visegrád-Fonds, Združenie PRE LEPŠÍ ŽIVOT Kecerovce – Rankovce, dem Museum der Kultur der Roma in der Slowakei in Martin, dem Dokumentations- und Informationszentrum für Roma-Kultur in Prešov und dem Museum für Roma-Kultur in Brünn für ihre Kooperation und Unterstützung. Unser Dank gilt auch all jenen, die mit ihren Interviews und ihrer Mithilfe an diesem Projekt mitgewirkt haben.

 

Die ERSTE Stiftung ist der Hauptpartner von tranzit.

  


Oto Hudec, Nadikhuno muzeumos / Invisible Museum
2017, Mixed Media, variable dimensions, courtesy of tranzit.sk, Adam Šakový


Oto Hudec & Daniela Krajčová, Projekt Karavan
2014–2018, mixed media, variable dimensions, courtesy of tranzit.sk, Adam Šakový


Robert Gabris, If u are scared, don’t enter the forest!
2017, drawing, 100 x 100 cm, courtesy of Robert Gabris


Emília Rigová, A Self-Portrait
2017, Photography, 130 x 100 cm, courtesy of Emília Rigová, Robert Gabris


Marcela Hadová together with the Marka romňakero gendalos, Flowers
2015, painting, variable dimensions, courtesy of tranzit.sk, Sándor Bartha