viennacontemporary

DREAMING ALIVE

Organizer: Armenia Art Foundation
Curator: Sona Stepanyan
Booth G01 / G02

 

The velvet revolution of love and solidarity, which took place in May 2018, directed the world’s attention to Armenia, a former republic of the Soviet Union in the South Caucasus. This unprecedented case in the history of the young state has questioned the boundaries of professional identity, uniting citizens online and offline, breaking down the distance between the center and the periphery, approaching step by step the main square of the capital city, Yerevan. One of the features of this revolution is that it succeeded in erasing the barriers between the artistic and the non-artistic, when each word from the political stage was immediately reinterpreted in an artistic context, and politicians used a vocabulary that had been developed in artists’ studios. Finally, a space was established that was dialogic in contrast to a hierarchical space that would oppress the artist and turn him or her into a marginal element.

The artistic gesture had been the only way to protest so far.  Artists – the permanent and invisible fighters against authoritarian regimes – came closer to their dream and thus found themselves in a transitional reality, whose discursive boundaries cannot yet be clearly defined. Once, the romantic 80s, dominated by perestroika, brought the first spirit of freedom, disobedience to official structures, bringing together visual artists, poets, musicians, who actively published manifestos and released samizdat, representing “Western, forbidden” art in Armenia. The ambitious 90s formed the first independent institutional agenda (the emergence of the Armenian Center for Contemporary Experimental Art (1992), the Venice Biennale Pavilion (1995), and Gyumri Contemporary Art Biennale (1998) and paved the way for the development of new media, such as video-art and performance. It was followed by the street actionism of the 00s, which, in a burst of solidarity, united artists and activists, contributing to the emergence of the Armenian public art and street art. Finally, one cannot help mentioning the frustration and apathy that are also present in the history of this struggle – the power nap of the 10s becomes the result of such an artistic stagnation caused by despair over the unchanging power that suppressed freedom. At the same time, Armenia has always been in parallel with the outsidedness of an active diasporal artistic gesture, projecting ideas about a home outside Armenia. But one way or another, internal artistic activity was provoked by political and cultural realities, often being an instant reaction and a way to stay in between reality and an illusory life.

The turning point that we are witnessing now opens the way to a new system of inclusive and effective institutions and equal opportunities. Dreaming Alive tells about the discourse of the latest three decades of Armenian contemporary art through catalogues and interviews gathered in the mediatheque zone. It sets today’s current art map and offers a glimpse of the Armenian realities in the rethinking of six contemporary artists.

 

The corpus of the exhibition is a selection from the six projects conducted by the winners on the 1st and 2nd open-call of Armenia Art Foundation. The artists exhibited include: Ayreen Anastas & Rene Gabri, Mher Azatyan, Arman Grigoryan, Piruza Khalapyan, Rebecca Topakian, Mika Vatinyan.

 

Sona Stepanyan is a curator at Armenia Art Foundation (Yerevan) and co-founder and member of the curatorial studio Triangle (Moscow). Previously she worked at the education department of Garage Museum of Contemporary Art. Stepanyan graduated from Svobodnie Masterskie curatorial school, the Critics and Curatorship program of UNIC Institute, and State Moscow Pedagogical University. Her independent exhibitions include Power Nap (2018; Yerevan Museum of Modern Art), Project with an Accent (2014; Random Gallery Moscow), Ward Number Laughter (Moscow Museum of Modern Art, 2013).

 

Armenia Art Foundation (AAF) is an independent non-profit organization aiming to support the development of contemporary art in Armenia. Based in Yerevan, it was established in 2016 by art historian and museum specialist Anush Zeynalyan and businessmen of Armenian origin David Nazaryan and Rafael Nazaryan. AAF supports artists by providing financial support for art projects while initiating new artistic and educational projects in Armenia, which involve local and international artists, curators and theorists.

Piruza Khalapyan (b. 1983) is a photographer and member of the 4plus organization, which aimto unitefemale Armenian documentary photographers. She started working as a professional photojournalist in 2006 and currently focuses on personal artistic projects related to the current socio-political situation in Armenia, dealing with personal and collective post-Soviet memories and national identity. Piruza has won the film award of ES EM Film Festivalfor best documentary and the NA/NE Contest for Journalists (British Council in Yerevan, OSCE Yerevan Office, UN Foundation). She lives and works in Yerevan, Armenia.

Piruza Khalapyan | My Place Is Empty (Memory of a Disappearing City)
2017, photography, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

Piruza Khalapyan | My Place Is Empty (Memory of a Disappearing City)
2017, photography, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

 

Mika Vatinyan (b. 1972) is an artist practicing in the fields of cinema, acting, music, design, and photography, often representing Armenia’s cultural-economic situation through his projects. Mika graduated from Yerevan State Institute of Theater and Cinematography with a bachelor’s degree in directing. Among the group exhibitions he participated in are: The 8th Gyumri Contemporary Art Biennale (2012), Changing the Place of Encounter: Fragments of Armenian Contemporary Visual Art, Berlin (2012). He lives and works in Yerevan, Armenia.

Mika Vatinyan | Secret Equals
2017, oil on canvas, 150 x 200 cm, courtesy of the artist

 

After earning a bachelor’s degrees in philosophy and in geography at the Sorbonne University in Paris, France, Rebecca Topakian (b. 1989) continued her research at the National Photography School of Arles (ENSP), France, from where she graduated in 2015. Playing with the boundaries between artistic and documentary forms, her work aims to point at the possibility of the representation of personal identity in its relation to groups, communities or collective history through intimacy, with a strong focus on bodies and their sensuality. She exhibited her work in several galleries and festivals in France and abroad (Biennale de l’Image Possible, Liège (BE), Photography Biennale in Mulhouse (FR), Art Centre of Villa Arson, Nice (FR), Festival Circulation(s), Rencontres dArles, and many more). Her book Infrawas recently published by Classe Moyenne Éditions.

Rebecca Topakian | Dame Gulizar and other stories
2018, gelatin print on stones, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

Rebecca Topakian | Dame Gulizar and other stories
2018, photography, 120 x 140 cm, courtesy of the artist

Rebecca Topakian | Dame Gulizar and other stories
2018, photography, 203 x 19,7 cm, courtesy of the artist

 

Arman Grigoryan (b. 1960) is one of the leading artists of the conceptualism and pop artistic movements of the 1980s in Armenia. His works often challenge traditions of academic art by including scenes and symbols from mass culture and simultaneously expressing criticism and nostalgia. After graduating from the Yerevan Institute of Fine Arts in 1985, Grigoryan co-founded the first liberal artistic movement 3rd Floor(1987-1994), which stimulated further development of Armenias contemporary art scene and the adoption of new artistic practices. Among many exhibitions in Armenia and abroad, Grigoryan presented and participated in the Armenian Pavilion at the 47th and 55th Venice Biennale both as an artist and curator. Arman Grigoryan is a member of AICA-Armenia and a speaker in the Yerevan Mkhitar SebastatsiEducational Complex. He lives and works in Yerevan, Armenia.

Arman Grigoryan | Means and Objectives
2017, 
HD video, 06:42 min, courtesy of the artist

 

Mher Azatyan (b.1972) is a photographer and visual artist living in Yerevan. Mher was among the artists representing the Armenian Pavilion at the 54th Venice Bienniale in Italy. In his works, Azatyan tries to convey a basic level of the everyday life, in which everyone shares a certain level of loneliness. Often, he accomplishes his works with minimalistic texts-statements, striving to capture the quintessence of everyday speech. His latest solo shows include You are not Alone, Studio 20, Yerevan, Armenia (2017); Untitled, Fotogalerie im Grazer Rathaus, Graz, Austria (2012); One more year has passed… Armenian Center for Contemporary Experimental Art, Yerevan,Armenia (2007); Casino-Inter Enter, Ex VoteArt Center, Yerevan, Armenia. Azatyan has also participated in numerous group exhibitions, including Art as a bridge, Creative peacebuilding, Voronezh, Russia (2016); Native Foreigners, GARAGE Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow, Russia (2014); Progressive Nostalgia Contemporary Art of the Former USS; Moscow, Russia (2008); Very simple actions without any particular purpose, ARTRA Galleria, Milan, Italy (2009); Kunsthalle Wien, Vienna, Austria (2004), and others.


Mher Azatyan | The Nature with Blood
2018, photography, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

 

Ayreen Anastas and Rene Gabri are artists who have been collaborating since 1999, which was the beginning of 16 Beaver, a collective space and context for rethinking the nexus between life, art, and politics. Their habits are many and changing, especially since inhabiting a small village in the mountains of Armenia together with friends and neighbours a small village in the mountains of Armenia. Their relation to art is in its potential to unmake as much as it is to make. Thus, art is not just another field of human activity or doing but a potential space to rethink all activities and doings.

Ayreen Anastas & Rene Gabri | And You, What do You Seek
2017, HD video, 31:27 min, courtesy of the artists

viennacontemporary

DREAMING ALIVE

Organisator: Armenia Art Foundation
Kuratorin: Sona Stepanyan
Stand G01 / G02

 

Die samtene Revolution der Liebe und Solidarität im Mai 2018 rückte Armenien, eine ehemalige Republik der Sowjetunion im Südkaukasus, ins Zentrum der internationalen Aufmerksamkeit. Diese noch nie dagewesene Revolution in der Geschichte des jungen Staates stellte die Grenzen von beruflicher Identität in Frage, vereinte BürgerInnen online und offline und verringerte die Kluft zwischen dem Zentrum und dem Umland, während sie sich Schritt für Schritt dem Hauptplatz der Hauptstadt Jerewan näherte. Eines ihrer Kennzeichen ist, dass sie erfolgreich die Barrieren zwischen dem Künstlerischen und dem Nicht-Künstlerischen niedergerissen hat, indem jedes Wort von der politischen Bühne unmittelbar in einem künstlerischen Kontext re-interpretiert wurde und PolitikerInnen Vokabular benutzten, das in KünstlerInnenstudios entwickelt worden war. So wurde ein dialogischer Raum hergestellt anstelle eines hierarchischen, der dazu neigt, KünstlerInnen zu unterdrücken und zu marginalisieren.

Bis dahin war die künstlerische Geste die einzige Art des Protests gewesen. KünstlerInnen – die ständigen und unsichtbaren KämpferInnen gegen autoritäre Regime – kamen ihren Träumen näher und fanden sich in einer vorläufigen Realität wieder, deren Diskursgrenzen noch nicht klar definiert werden können. Die Perestrojka der romantischen 80er Jahre brachten einst die erste Welle von Freiheit und Ungehorsam gegenüber offiziellen Strukturen. Bildende KünstlerInnen, DichterInnen, MusikerInnen vereinten sich, um Manifeste und Samisdat-Literatur zu veröffentlichen, die die “westliche, verbotene” Kunst in Armenien repräsentierte. Die ehrgeizigen 90er begründeten die erste unabhängige institutionelle Agenda (die Entstehung des armenischen Zentrums für Zeitgenössische Experimentelle Kunst (1992), die Teilnahme an der Venedig Biennale (1995) und an der Gyumri Contemporary Art Biennale(1998)) und ebneten den Weg für die Entstehung neuer Medien, wie Video- und Performancekunst. Gefolgt wurde die Dekade vom Zeitalter des Aktionismus in den 2000ern, in dem sich KünstlerInnen und AktivistInnen in einem Akt der Solidarität vereinten und zu der Entstehung von Kunst im öffentlichen Raum und Street Art in Armenien beitrugen. Zu guter Letzt muss man aber auch die Frustration und Apathie erwähnen, die ebenso in der Geschichte dieses Kampfes vorkommen – der “Power Nap” der 2010er ist das Resultat eines solchen künstlerischen Stillstandes, der durch Verzweiflung über die unveränderliche, Freiheit unterdrückende Macht entstanden ist. Gleichzeitig war Armenien aber immer auch nach außen hin gerichtet durch eine aktive diasporische künstlerische Geste, die Ideen eines Heimes außerhalb Armeniens entwarf. Auf die eine oder andere Art wurde innere künstlerische Aktivität von politischen und kulturellen Realitäten hervorgerufen – oftmals als sofortige Reaktion darauf und als ein Weg, zwischen der Realität und einem illusorischen Leben zu verharren.

Der Wendepunkt, den wir nun beobachten können, ebnet den Weg für ein neues System der integrativen und effektiven Institutionen und der Chancengleichheit. Dreaming Alive erzählt von den letzten drei Jahrzehnten der armenischen zeitgenössischen Kunst durch Kataloge und Interviews, die in der Mediathek-Zone ausgestellt werden. Die Ausstellung zeichnet eine Landkarte der aktuellen zeitgenössischen Kunstszene und bietet einen Einblick in die armenischen Gegebenheiten durch die Blickwinkel sechs zeitgenössischer KünstlerInnen.

 

Den Kern der Ausstellung bildet eine Auswahl aus den sechs Projekten der GewinnerInnen des ersten und zweiten Open-Calls der Armenia Art Foundation. Die ausgestellten KünstlerInnen sind: Ayreen Anastas & Rene Gabri, Mher Azatyan, Arman Grigoryan, Piruza Khalapyan, Rebecca Topakian, Mika Vatinyan.

Die Vorführung der Videoarbeit And You, What Do You Seek? von Ayreen Anastas & Rene Gabri findet am 27. September um 13:15 Uhr in der Talks Area (C32) statt. Für weitere Informationen, werfen Sie einen Blick in das Talks Programm. 

 

Sona Stepanyan arbeitet als Kuratorin bei der Armenia Art Foundation (Yerevan) und ist Mitbegründerin und Mitglied des KuratorInnenstudios Triangle (Moskau). Davor arbeitete sie in der Bildungsabteilung des Garage Museums für Zeitgenössische Kunst. Stepanyan studierte an der KuratorInnen-Schule Svobodnie Masterskie, absolvierte das „Critics and Curatorship“-Programm des UNIC Instituts und die State Moscow Pedagogical University. Zu ihren Ausstellungen zählen: Power Nap (2018; Yerevan Museum of Modern Art), Project with an Accent (2014; Random Gallery Moscow), Ward Number Laughter (Moscow Museum of Modern Art, 2013).

 

Armenia Art Foundation (AAF) ist eine unabhängige Non-Profit Organisation mit Sitz in Jerewan, die die Entwicklung der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene in Armenien unterstützt. Sie wurde 2016 von Kunsthistorikerin und Museumsspezialistin Anush Zeynalyan und Businessmen armenischer Herkunft David Nazaryan und Rafael Nazaryan gegründet. AAF bietet finanzielle Unterstützung für Kunstprojekte und gründet neue Ausbildungs- und künstlerische Projekte in Armenien, die lokale und internationale KünstlerInnen, KuratorInnen und TheoretikerInnen einbinden.

Mit freundlicher Unterstützung von:

Partner:

Piruza Khalapyan (1983) ist Fotografin und Mitglied der 4plus Organisation, deren Ziel es ist, armenische Dokumentarfotografinnen zu vernetzen. Sie ist seit 2006 als Fotojournalistin tätig und realisiert außerdem persönliche Kunstprojekte zur aktuellen sozialpolitischen Situation in Armenien, die um persönliche und kollektive postsowjetische Erinnerungen und Fragen der nationalen Identität kreisen. Piruza ist Gewinnerin des ES EM Filmfestival Filmpreises für beste Dokumentation und des NA/NE Contests für JournalistInnen (British Council in Jerewan, OSCE Jerewan Büro, UN Foundation). Sie lebt und arbeitet in Jerewan, Armenien.

Piruza Khalapyan | My Place Is Empty (Memory of a Disappearing City)
2017, photography, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

Piruza Khalapyan | My Place Is Empty (Memory of a Disappearing City)
2017, photography, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

 

Mika Vatinyan (1972) ist als Künstler in den Bereichen Kino, Schauspiel, Musik, Design und Fotografie tätig. Oft spiegeln sich die kulturell-wirtschaftlichen Zustände Armeniens in seinen Projekten wider. Mika erwarb seinen Bachelorabschluss in Regie am Yerevan State Institute of Theater and Cinematography. Er nahm an einer Reihe von Gruppenausstellungen teil, unter anderem: The 8th Gyumri Contemporary Art Biennale (2012), Changing the Place of Encounter: Fragments of Armenian Contemporary Visual Art, Berlin (2012). Er lebt und arbeitet in Jerewan, Armenien.

Mika Vatinyan | Secret Equals
2017, oil on canvas, 150 x 200 cm, courtesy of the artist

 

Nachdem sie zwei Bachelorabschlüsse in Philosophie und Geografie an der Sorbonne in Paris, Frankreich, absolviert hat, studierte Rebecca Topakian (1989) bis 2015 an der National Photography School of Arles (ENSP), Frankreich. Ihre Arbeiten, die mit den Grenzen zwischen künstlerischen und dokumentarischen Formaten spielen, zeigen die Möglichkeit der Repräsentation persönlicher Identität in ihrer Beziehung zu Gruppen, Gemeinschaften oder kollektiven Vergangenheit durch Intimität und mit einem starken Fokus auf Körper und deren Sinnlichkeit. Ihre Arbeiten wurden in diversen Galerien und Festivals in Frankreich und im Ausland gezeigt (Biennale de l’Image Possible, Liège (BE), Photography Biennale in Mulhouse (FR), Art Centre of Villa Arson, Nizza, (FR), Festival Circulation(s), Rencontres dArles, und viele andere). Ihr Buch Infraerschien kürzlich im Verlag Classe Moyenne Éditions.

Rebecca Topakian | Dame Gulizar and other stories
2018, gelatin print on stones, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

Rebecca Topakian | Dame Gulizar and other stories
2018, photography, 120 x 140 cm, courtesy of the artist

Rebecca Topakian | Dame Gulizar and other stories
2018, photography, 203 x 19,7 cm, courtesy of the artist

 

Arman Grigoryan (1960) ist einer der führenden Künstler der Konzeptkunst und Pop-Art Bewegung in Armenien der 1980er. Seine Arbeiten stellen oft die Traditionen akademischer Kunst infrage, indem sie Szenen und Symbole der Massenkultur beherbergen und gleichzeitig Kritik und Nostalgie ausdrücken. Nach seinem Studium am Yerevan Institute of Fine Arts bis zum Jahr 1985 wurde Grigoryan Mitbegründer von Armeniens erster liberalen KünstlerInnenbewegung „3rd Floor(1987-1994), die weitere Entwicklungen in der zeitgenössischen Kunstszene des Landes und den Einsatz neuer künstlerischer Praktiken stimulierte. Grigoryan nahm an einer Vielzahl von Ausstellungen in Armenien und im Ausland teil, unter anderem als Künstler und Kurator im armenischen Pavilion der 47. und der 55.  Biennale in Venedig. Arman Grigoryan ist Mitglied von AICA-Armenia und Sprecher des Yerevan Mkhitar Sebastatsi” Educational Complex. Er lebt und arbeitet in Jerewan, Armenien.

Arman Grigoryan | Means and Objectives
2017, 
HD video, 06:42 min, courtesy of the artist

 

Mher Azatyan (1972) ist Fotograf und visueller Künstler aus Jerewan. Mher war unter jenen KünstlerInnen, die den armenischen Pavilion bei der 54. Venedig Biennale in Italien vertreten haben. In seinen Arbeiten versucht Azatyan eine grundlegende Ebene des täglichen Lebens wiederzugeben, in der alle Menschen eine gewisse Einsamkeit teilen. Oft erstellt er seine Arbeiten mit minimalistischen Textaussagen, die versuchen, die Quintessenz der Alltagssprache einzufangen. Zu seinen letzten Einzelausstellungen zählen You are not Alone, Studio 20, Jerewan, Armenien (2017); Untitled, Fotogalerie im Grazer Rathaus, Graz, Österreich (2012); One more year has passedArmenian Center for Contemporary Experimental Art, Jerewan, Armenien (2007); Casino-Inter Enter, Ex VoteArt Center, Jerewan, Armenien. Azatyan hat an einer Reihe von Gruppenausstellungen teilgenommen, wie etwa Art as a bridge, Creative Peacebuilding, Voronezh, Russland (2016); Native Foreigners, GARAGE Museum of Contemporary Art, Moskau, Russland (2014); Progressive Nostalgia Contemporary Art of the Former USS; Moskau, Russland (2008); Very simple actions without any particular purpose, ARTRA Galleria, Mailand, Italien (2009); Kunsthalle Wien, Wien, Österreich (2004) und vielen mehr.


Mher Azatyan | The Nature with Blood
2018, photography, various sizes, courtesy of the artist

 

Das KünstlerInnenduo Ayreen Anastas und Rene Gabri arbeitet seit 1999 zusammen – dem Gründungsjahr von 16 Beaver, einem kollektiven Raum und Kontext, in dem die Verbindungen von Leben, Kunst und Politik neu durchdacht werden. Ihre Gewohnheiten sind vielfältig und einem ständigen Wandel unterworfen, vor allem, seit sie gemeinsam mit FreundInnen und NachbarInnen ein kleines Dorf in den Bergen Armeniens bewohnen. Ihre Beziehung zur Kunst birgt ebenso viel Potential zu erschaffen, wie zu beseitigen. Kunst ist für das Duo daher nicht bloß ein weiteres Feld menschlicher Betätigung, sondern ein potentieller Raum, in dem alle Aktivitäten und alles Erschaffene neu durchdacht werden kann.

Ayreen Anastas and Rene Gabri | And You, What do You Seek
2017, HD video, 31:27 min, courtesy of the artists